Karn Sharma claimed his second three-wicket haul in the tournament    Getty Images
Karn Sharma claimed his second three-wicket haul in the tournament Getty Images (File Photo)

A combined bowling performance by the spin unit has helped India A bowl Australia A out for 220 in the final of the A-team tri-series in Chennai. Usman Khawaja and Joe Burns led Australia A to a brisk and stable start after they had won the toss, and at the halfway mark, they were smoothly running at 130 for 1. But since No. 3 Travis Head got out softly in the 27th over, the batting became jittery: they lost six wickets for 56 runs, to find themselves struggling at 194 for 7. Legspinner Karn Sharma was India A s most successful spinner, with three for 37 in his ten overs, and left-arm spinner Akshar Patel was the most frugal, with 2 for 25 off ten overs. LIVE UPDATES: India A vs Australia A, final, A-team tri-series, Chennai

Khawaja, the captain and opener, smashed seven fours, including five off seamer Sandeep Sharma, in his 88-ball knock of 76. But at a crucial time, when a few wickets had fallen around him, he stepped down the track to provide a catch to the deep mid-off fielder, to become the fourth wicket to fall, in the 33rd over.

Burns, his opening partner, played confidently for his 41, before chipping a simple catch back to the bowler, offspinner Gurkeerat Singh. There were starts from Travis Head, Callum Ferguson, and Ashton Agar, but all of them picked fielders trying to attack, to be dismissed softly, all against spinners. READ: Usman Khawaja scores 76 for Australia A in final against India A in Chennai

The tight leash conjured by Indian spinners was rare, as they had been hammered by the same Australian team in the first game, and have largely been ineffective in the tournament. Karn Sharma bowled with flight, and Akshar Patel showed control. Even in the dry phases in the middle of the innings, the spinners didn t allow the middle-order batsmen to get away. Off-spinner Gurkeerat Singh also took a couple of crucial wickets.

Brief Scores:

Australia A 226 for 9 in 50 overs (Usman Khawaja 76, Joe Burns 41, Callum Ferguson 41; Karn Sharma 3 for 37, Akshar Patel 2 for 25) vs India A