India A suffer batting collapse in chase of 186 against West Indies A

Shikhar Dhawan remained unbeaten on 13 accompanied by Cheteshwar Pujara AFP

Bridgetown (Barbados): Jun 5, 2012

India A‘s top order collapsed in the second innings as the unofficial Test against the West Indies A was heading for an exciting finish with visitors placed 22 for three, chasing 186 to win.

With a slender 25-lead in their hands, India A shot out West Indies A for 210 in their second innings with Rohit Sharma sizzling with a four-wicket haul and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar accounting for three batsmen, on the third day.

However, India A lost three wickets in the 10 overs they faced before the stumps were drawn on the penultimate day, making the contest more interesting at the Kensington Oval.

India’s top three batsmen — opener Abhinav Mukund (0), Ajinkya Rahane (5) and Rohit Sharma (3) — were back in the pavilion with fast bowler Jason Holder taking two wickets.

Holder first had Mukund caught by Jonathan Carter and then disturbed the timber of Rahane. Delorn Johnson then removed in-form Rohit to leave India gasping.

Skipper Cheteshwar Pujara (0) and left-handed opener Shikhar Dhawan (13) were at the crease and will resume India’s chase on the fourth morning.

Earlier, the West Indies side began the day at three for no loss and both the openers — Lendl Simmons (53) and Kraigg Brathwaite (50) — gave the hosts a good start by putting up a 68-run stand.

Medium pacer Shami Ahmad broke the stand by trapping Simmons and spinner Rahul Sharma delivered the second blow by scalping next man in Donovan Pagon (0).

Bhuvaneshwar cleaned up the middle order by dismissing Brathwaite, Nkrumah Bonner (36) and Carter (0).

Rohit ripped apart the lower-order as he took the last four wickets to draw curtains on the West Indies innings.

Sharma dismissed Holder (15), Veerasammy Permaul (4), Devendra Bishoo (4) and Johnson (1).

Scoreboard on the third day of the first four-day “Test” between West Indies A and India A at Kensington Oval on Monday.

West Indies A 1st Innings 252

India A 1st Innings 277

West Indies A 2nd Innings (Overnight 3/0)

Lendl Simmons lbw b Ahmed 53
Kraigg Brathwaite b Kumar 50
Donovan Pagon lbw b Rahul Sharma 0
Nkrumah Bonner lbw b Kumar 36
Jonathan Carter lbw b Kumar 0
Leon Johnson not out 7
Devon Thomas b Ahmed 22
Jason Holder b Rohit Sharma 15
Veerasammy Permaul b Rohit Sharma 4
Devendra Bishoo lbw b Rohit Sharma 4
Delorn Johnson lbw b Rohit Sharma 1
Extras (b4, lb5, nb9) 18
Total (all out in 78.3 overs) 210

Fall of wickets: 1-68, 2-69, 3-134, 4-134, 5-151, 6-186, 7-193, 8-202, 9-208, 10-210

Dinda 14-7-25-0
Kumar 14-4-44-3
Ahmed 17-8-24-2
Rahul 17-4-67-1
Rohit 16.3-3-41-4

India A 2nd Innings
Shikhar Dhawan not out 13
Abhinav Mukund c Carter b Holder 0
Ajinkya Rahane b Holder 5
Rahul Sharma c Pagon b D Johnson 3
Cheteshwar Pujara not out 0
Extras (b1) 1
TOTAL (for three wickets in 10 overs) 22

Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-12, 3-15

Johnson 5-1-9-1
Holder 5-0-12-2 (PTI & IANS)