India-Australia Test series venues revised

The venues for the series starting February 22 have been shuffled with Chennai hosting the first Test © Getty Images

New Delhi: Jan 14, 2013

The venues for the prestigious Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia have been revised with the opening Test of the four-match series scheduled to be held at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai from February 22 to 26, BCCI said on Tuesday.

“As per the new programme, the first game of the four-Test series between India and Australia will now be played at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, from 22 February 2013 to 26 February 2013,” BCCI Secretary Sanjay Jagdale said in a release.

“The venue has staged some unforgettable encounters between the two nations, including the ‘tie’ in September 1986.”

Earlier, Delhi was scheduled to host the opening match of the series, followed by Mohali, Hyderabad and Chennai.

However, according to the revised schedule, the second match will be in Hyderabad, followed by Mohali and Delhi.

“The teams will then move to Hyderabad for the second Test, from 2 March 2013 to 6 March 2013. The action will subsequently shift to the north.

“Mohali will host the third Test from 14 March 2013 to 18 March, and Delhi the fourth, from 22 March 2013 to 26 March 2013. Delhi’s Ferozeshah Kotla Ground was the venue where the teams first played for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, in October 1996,” the release added.

The revised schedule of the Test matches is as follows:

First Test MA at Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai – Feb 22 to 26;

Second Test at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad – March 2 to 6;

Third Test at PCA Stadium, Mohali – March 14 to 18; and

Fourth Test Feroze Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi – March 22 to 26.