India Red win toss, elect to field in the Challenger trophy opener

Challengers trophy will be an opportunity for Team India discards to stake a claim in the national team AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Nagpur: Oct 10, 2011

India Red captain Gautam Gambhir has won the toss and elected to field first against India Blue in the first match of the NKP Salve Challenger trophy opening match at Nagpur.

Team India discards like spinners Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha and Amit Mishra, and the Pathan brothers — Irfan and Yusuf, will get another opportunity to stake a claim in the national team at the annual NKP Salve Challenger Trophy which gets underway on Monday.

S Badrinath, Murali Vijay, Saurabh Tiwary, Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa and Abhimanyu Mithun are among the other players who would like to send the selectors a reminder about their abilities.


India Red: Gautam Gambhir (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Abhinav Mukund, Ashok Menaria, Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Piyush Chawla, RP Singh, Jaydev Unadkat, Pankaj Singh, Bhargav Bhatt.

India Blue: Paul Valthaty, Murali Vijay, Subramaniam Badrinath (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mandeep Singh, Manish Pandey, IrfanPathan, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Pradeep Sangwan, Yaju Krishanatry.

Catch the Live score of India Blue vs India Red here