India seamer Snehal Pradhan suspended for illegal bowling action

Snehal Pradhan has been suspended from bowling in international circuit Getty Images

Dubai: Aug 10, 2011

The International Cricket Council on Wednesday confirmed that an independent test had found the bowling action of India women s team s seamer Snehal Pradhan as illegal and, as such, the player has been suspended from bowling in international cricket.

A comprehensive analysis revealed that her action exceeded the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the relevant regulations.

The independent analysis was performed by Prof. Bruce Elliott, member of the ICC Panel of Human Movement Specialists, at the School of Sport Science, Exercise and Health, University of Western Australia (UWA), Perth on 20 July.

The analysis showed that the amount of elbow extension in Pradhan s bowling action for all her deliveries were not within the 15-degree level of tolerance. The mean elbow extension is two degrees above the threshold for all delivery types.

Pradhan had been reported following the completion of an ODI between England and India on 30 June at the Country Ground in Derby. She was reported by on-field umpires Jeff Evans and Graham Lloyd.

She can apply for re-assessment of her bowling action after she has modified it in accordance with clause 2.4 of the regulations for the review of bowlers reported with suspected illegal bowling actions.

Pradhan has the right to appeal against UWA s conclusions to the Bowling Review Group, in accordance with clause 2.3 of the regulations for the review of bowlers reported with suspected illegal bowling actions. Should she choose to appeal, she must lodge written notification with the ICC within 14 days of receiving the report.


ICC Media Release