India squad for Australia Test series to leave in two batches

Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman are a part of the first batch, which will leave on December 8 for Canberra Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Mumbai: Nov 30, 2011

The 17-member India squad for four-match Test series against Australia, starting December 26, will leave for Canberra in two batches.

The members of the Test squad, who are not playing in the ongoing one-day series against West Indies, will leave for Australia on December 8 from Mumbai, while the second batch will leave from Chennai on December 12.

Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha and Wriddhiman Saha are expected to leave in the first batch, but there is no confirmation on skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, DNA reported.

A few members of the support staff including physio Evan Speechly and fitness trainer Ramji Srinivasan will also be a part of first batch.

India coach Duncan Fletcher will leave with the second batch, in which Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron and Zaheer Khan will leave.

India will play two warm-up matches first against Cricket Australia Chairman s XI from December 15-16, and second from December 19-21.

The players who will leave in the second batch will attend the Board of Control for Cricket in India s (BCCI) annual awards function, to be held in Chennai on December 10.

Dravid, who has been named for the Polly Umrigar Award, is likely to miss the function.

Shivlal Yadav will be the team manager for Test series, while Arshad Ayub will be the manager for tri-series.