Live Updates

  • 7:04 PM IST

    The final performance saw all the actors together dancing to the India T20 league theme song.

  • 7:00 PM IST

    Hrithik adding the final touch to the ceremony with the Shaimak group. Btw, Dhoni has shown no interest in coming to stage and speaking with Jatin Sapru.

  • 6:55 PM IST

    Yes, the best is always reserved for the last and who better than Hrithik Roshan to finish off things in a classy way.

  • 6:53 PM IST

    No, no, no, no not the ‘ek, do, teen’ song. Please, someone tell her.

  • 6:50 PM IST

    Jacqueline Fernandes has entered the stage with the Shiamak group. One must say the set up for the opening ceremony looks perfecto.

  • 6:43 PM IST

    One would not mind a little bit of Mika Singh here. After all the dance and grooving, it is time for some singing.

  • 6:36 PM IST

    Tamannah enters in Bahubali style. She still has not come out of that zone, I believe.

  • 6:34 PM IST

    Rohit Sharma comes on to the stage and places the trophy in the podium. The Mumbai crowd has gone berserk.

  • 6:33 PM IST

    After all that hullabaloo, some serious pledging here by all the captains.

  • 6:31 PM IST

    Well, the Chennaites grooved as soon as Prabhu Deva entered the stage.

  • 6:30 PM IST

    Really? Muqabula Muqabula battle between Varun Dhawan and Prabhu Deva? And Varun Dhawan cannot even imitate Michael Jackson’s steps rightly.

  • 6:26 PM IST

    After the baccha has shown his dancing skills it is over to the king of dance – Prabhudeva. Of course, there has to be some Chennai essence after the Mumbaiya effect.

  • 6:22 PM IST

    How many of you have seen Varun Dhawan’s get up in Linkin Road? I bet you have, c’mon.

  • 6:21 PM IST

    So let me explain this, Varun Dhawan just entered from one of the stage props and before that there were gongs that were played in full volume.

  • 6:20 PM IST

    We know that Varun Dhawan has come in the Main tera Hero, but there are some who do not know who is he. Now, you’ll should know it.

  • 6:18 PM IST

    Yayyy, India T20 league is open and this comes from a person whose name is difficult to spell out.

  • 6:17 PM IST

    Jatin Sapru is going to keep us hooked to in this opening ceremony. And he introduces the IPL panel members starting with Rajeev Shukla (or wait is it Rajiv Shukla)?

  • 6:12 PM IST

    We assure that our updates will entertain just like the opening ceremony but with a different twist.

  • 6:11 PM IST

    Hello and Good Evening. The stage is set for the India T20 league and all the live action is taking place at Wankhede.

The opening ceremony will begin at 17:00 IST © Getty Images
The opening ceremony will begin at 17:00 IST © Getty Images

Good Evening! Hello and Welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog session of the grand opening ceremony of Indian T20 league 2018 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The 11th edition finally kicks off with this opening ceremony, and will be followed by a blockbuster match between the last year’s champions Mumbai and comeback team Chennai. Mumbai, being the defending champions, are hosting the opening game of the T20 league; they will also be hosting the final on May 27.

The Indian T20 league is undoubtedly the biggest league in the world. Its immense popularity and richness attract extensive following in India as well as around the world. The participation of players from across the globe makes IPL perhaps the most competitive franchise-based T20 league in the world. Apart from the cricket, the entertainment the league provides is also spectacular, especially in the form of the opening and closing ceremonies.

To spice up the opening ceremony, Hrithik Roshan, Jacqueline Fernandes and likes would be seen performing. Unlike every season where the captains of all franchises attend the ceremony, this time only Rohit Sharma of Mumbai and MS Dhoni of Chennai will be seen attending the opening ceremony.