India Under-19 thrash Australia to win tri-nation series

Vijay Zol (centre) was adjudged man-of-the-Series © Getty Images (File Photo)

Darwin: Jul 12, 2013

Indian bowlers ripped through the Australian line-up as the team thrashed the hosts by eight wickets to be crowned champions in the Under-19 International Series after a lop-sided final clash on Friday.

Opting to bowl after winning the toss, the Indians bowled out Australia for a paltry 75 in 24.4 overs before overwhelming the target in 15.3 overs, losing just two wickets in the process.

India never looked troubled in their run chase as they finished the series unbeaten.

The Aussies, who spent Thursday night watching one of last year’s under-19 representatives, Ashton Agar, bat his way into history in the Ashes series in England, failed to get inspired and were throughly outplayed.

Indian captain Vijay Zol won Player of the Series award after a dominant performance with the bat.

The Australian openers — Matthew Short (25) and Damien Mortimer (10) — put 36 runs on the board before the remaining side folded out after adding just 39 more to the total.

Left-arm seamer Chama Milind triggered the Australian downfall by getting Short caught by Deepak Hooda at short midwicket.

Milind struck again getting Ben McDermott (3) to flick one to square leg. Hooda then grabbed three wickets in his 10 overs that cost just 22 runs.

The Indian chase was never in any trouble expect for the early loss Akhil Herwadkar (0). But opener Ankush Bains (40) and No 4 Sanju Samson (20) steered the side home with ease.

The only other wicket to fall was of Zol, who departed after scoring 9 runs.