AFP (File Photo)
India play Australia in 5 ODI series AFP (File Photo)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India s 16-man squad for the first 3 One-Day Internationals (ODI) of upcoming five-match series against Australia. Virat Kohli will continue to lead the side, with Rohit Sharma his deputy. Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja have been rested for the series starting from September 17. Mohammed Shami along with Umesh Yadav have been drafted into the side that played in Sri Lanka.

Speaking on the team selection, MSK Prasad said, The team for the three ODIs against Australia has been selected in line with the rotation policy of the Board and accordingly Ashwin and Jadeja have been rested. The team s performance during the Sri Lanka tour was outstanding and players like Akshar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal, who performed very well are being given an extended run and this will in turn supplement our approach, to build a strong reserve strength, as we prepare for forthcoming tours.

The core of the side remains the same from the recently concluded 5-ODI series in Sri Lanka. The first ODI will be played at Chennai, followed by Kolkata and Indore respectively. BCCI also named India A squad that will take on the visiting New Zealand A side in 2 four-day games series at Vijaywada.

Squad: ViratKohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

India A : Priyank Panchal, R Samarth, Sudip Chatterjee, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Karun Nair (Captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, K Gowtham, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Ankit Rajpoot