1st T20I: India pick Rishabh Pant and Krunal Pandya, opt to bowl
Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to field in Wellington. (Image: @BCCI)

India‘s stand-in captain Rohit Sharma has opted to field after winning the toss in the first T20I against New Zealand at Wellington’s Westpac Stadium on Wednesday.

India included Rishabh Pant and Krunal Pandya, marking the first instance of the two Pandya brothers playing together for India. Vijay Shankar will bat at No 4.

With Pant playing, as well as MS Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik, India have three wicketkeeper-batsman in their XI with Dhoni the man to keep wickets.

India picked Yuzvendra Chahal and Khaleel Ahmed, alongside Bhuvneshwar Kumar. (LIVE UPDATES: INDIA vs NEW ZEALAND, 1st T2OI)

New Zealand handed a debut to Daryl Mitchell, the batting allrounder. With Martin Guptill injured, the wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert will open with Colin Munro. Jimmy Neesham misses out.


India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Rishabh Pant, 4 Vijay Shankar, 5 Dinesh Karthik, 6 MS Dhoni (wk), 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Krunal Pandya, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Khaleel Ahmed

New Zealand: 1 Colin Munro, 2 Tim Seifert (wk), 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Daryl Mitchell, 6 Colin de Grandhomme, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Scott Kuggeleijn, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Lockie Ferguson