Virat Kohli and Co. will be keen to register their second successive T20I series win as they face South Africa in the 3rd T20I in Bengaluru. ©PTI

Having registered their maiden T20I win over South Africa at home by winning the second match of the series in Mohali on Wednesday, India will be out to win the final T20I of the series to seal the series win at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday.

Virat Kohli led from the front, scoring an unbeaten 72, after Deepak Chahar and Co restricted Proteas at 149 to take 1-0 lead in the series after a Dharamsala washout. While Rohit Sharma could not score many, Shikhar Dhawan scored 40 in the second T20I. Rohit’s lack of runs in the previous game though won’t be a worry for India.

The same, however, can’t be said about Rishabh Pant’s form. Ahead of the series, head coach Ravi Shastri had said that there will a rap on the knuckles if he plays a bad shot and the wicketkeeper-batsman did exactly that, getting out on four.


The new-look South Africa, on the other hand, will be happy with the way both their wicketkeepers – Quinton de Kock , leading the side, and Temba Bavuma – performed, scoring 52 and 49 runs respectively. However, the visitors will not mind the others scoring big.

Coming to South Africa’s bowling, they had no answer to stop the Kohli juggernaut and as Kohli returns to his IPL home ground, South African bowlers will have their task cut out as the team looks to square the series.

What: India vs South Africa 2019, 2nd T20I

When: September 22 (Sunday)

Where: M Chinnaswamy Stadium

Time: 7 pm IST

Weather: Cloudy with a chance of a thunderstorm and a maximum high of 26 degrees Celsius.

On TV: Star Sports Network (in India)

LIVE streaming: Hotstar

You can also follow LIVE streaming of the match on CricketCountry (India vs South Africa, 3rd T20I: Scorecard)



With Bengaluru is known to be a batsman’s paradise, with small boundaries and batting friendly conditions, India may make some changes to their bowling combinations. While Washington Sundar did not do much wrong in the second T20I and expected to retain his place, India may want to replace Navdeep Saini with Khaleel Ahmed. The right-arm pacer went wicketless and conceded 34 runs of his four overs.

Probable XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar,

South Africa

Like India, South Africa are expected to retain their batting core. The bowling unit may be in for a change. While Kagiso Rabada is expected to retain his place despite going wicketless in the second T20I, Junior Dala and Beuran Hendricks may be in contention to come in the playing XI. It won’t be too surprising if South Africa replace Tabraiz Shamsi with George Linde.

Probable XI: Quinton de Kock (captain & wk), Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, David Miller, Rassie van der Dussen, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Andile Phehlukwayo, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Junior Dala


No of matches played: 14

India won: 9

South Africa won: 5


61 – Quinton de Kock needs 61 runs more to complete 1000 runs in Twenty20 internationals.

1 – David Miller needs one more catch to complete 50 catches as an outfielder in T20Is.

7 – Rohit Sharma will have a chance to reclaim the top spot from Virat Kohli in the list of highest run-getters in T20Is.