Live Updates

  • 11:54 PM IST

    No surprises with the Man of the Match award, yes it is Virat Kohli for his 160 runs in 159 balls. Just before the series started Faf du Plessis had said he expects India to improve their record in South Africa and well the Indian team hasn’t disappointed him.

  • 11:38 PM IST

    It’s all over for the host, India register another dominated victory of 124 runs. India have won 3 out of 6 matches this means they cannot lose the series from here. Amla’s smile while congratulating the Indian players shows what a gentleman he is.

  • 11:27 PM IST

    The tail is tumbling now to the spinners. When the batsmen failed to pick up the spinners you can’t really blame the tail.

  • 11:16 PM IST

    Morris was doing just fine when the pacers were bowling. Kuldeep was got back into the attack and Morris falls on the first ball he faces. India 4 wickets away from win.

  • 11:06 PM IST

    Miller dismissed by Bumrah as he nicks one to Dhoni. Morris comes in and hits a glorious cover drive. However, the asking rate has now jumped over 10. Morris has the reputation of hard hitting, can he do it for his team here ?

  • 10:47 PM IST

    Hardik Pandya has had a good day with ball. He has bowled 7 overs till now conceding 28 runs and only 1 boundary. The required rate now above 9.

  • 10:31 PM IST

    The spinners in their 11 have conceded only one boundary and 38 runs. The last 5 overs went for 16 runs with the loss of one wicket. Kuldeep has been impressive in his spell of 5 overs giving away 9 runs.

  • 10:24 PM IST

    The struggle continues for South Africa. They still aren’t picking the Indian wrist spinners. Duminy who was looking set also fell pray to Chahal on 51. It is great to see Dhoni making field changes for spinners, the captain in his hasn’t died yet and we hope he never does.

  • 10:12 PM IST

    The spin web doing the job for India again. Both the spinners have got one wicket each. Dhoni amuses the viewers with his tips from behind. David Miller in the middle now to accompany Duminy.

  • 10:00 PM IST

    MS Dhoni now has 400 dismissals under his name. He had 398 prior to the series. Aiden Markram became the 400th dismissal who used his feet to hit Kuldeep’s ball but ended up being stumped by MSD.

India lead 2-0 © AFP
India lead 2-0 © AFP

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of India vs South Africa 2017-18. This is the third ODI of the six-match series and here we will bring to you all the live updates and the scores of the match. India hold the advantage, winning the first two encounters comprehensively at Durban and Centurion. South Africa had already been stripped of the services of AB de Villiers and Faf du Plessis. They will now take field at Newlands without Quinton de Kock, who has been ruled out with a wrist injury. Young Aiden Markram will continue to lead, and has a humongous task ahead to lead hosts’ comeback.

South Africa have been trapped in the web of Indian spinners in both the matches. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have inflicted 13 dismissals from 2 matches between them. In addition, South Africa’s middle- and lower-order woes have increased with the big hole left by de Villiers and du Plessis. Nonetheless, such a case also brings in opportunities for the young guns. Will they learn from their mistakes, and post some fightback?

From India’s perspective, they should ideally stick to their XI till they actually seal the series. Rohit Sharma needs a big innings in the tour. In addition, the likes of MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav and Hardik Pandya would want more chances with the willow.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur.

South Africa squad: Aiden Markram (c), Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khaya Zondo.