Ajinkya Rahane is the 20th Indian to enter the Lord's Honours board © Getty images
Ajinkya Rahane is the 20th Indian to enter the Lord’s Honours board © Getty images

Jul 18, 2014

Ajinkya Rahane became the 20th Indian to find his name on the Lord’s Honours board with a century against England on July 17, 2014. On a lush green top, Rahane fought his way against the England pace attack to score his second Test ton. The last time and Indian scored a century in his first appearance at Lord’s was Sourav Ganguly with 131 on his Test debut. The last Indian on the Lord’s Honours board was Praveen Kumar who had bagged a five-for in the 2011 series when India lost 0-4. After Rahane, came Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s moment to enter the Lord’s Honours board  with a six-wicket haul. On July 21, 2014, Ishant stormed in to the Honours board running through the England batting with figures of seven for 74.


  • The first Indian to get to the Lord’s Honours board was Mohammad Nissar when he bagged five for 93 in June 1932.


  • Dilip Vengsarkar is the only Indian to have etched his name on the Honours board thrice.


  • Vinoo Mankad has got to the Honours board twice, one for a century and one for a five-wicket haul. Interestingly, Mankad has achieved both on the same day, June 19, 1952.


  • Three Indian batsmen have got to the Lord’s Honours board with identical scores. Dilip Vengsarkar, Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane with 103.


  • The best bowling figures by an Indian at Lord’s is Ishant Sharma with seven for 74. Next is Amar Singh with six for 35. Apart from him, only Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Bishan Singh Bedi have a six-for.


Centuries by Indian batsmen to get to the Lord’s Honours board

Batsman Runs Date
Ajinkya Rahane 103 17-Jul-14
Rahul Dravid 103* 21-Jul-11
Ajit Agarakar 109* 25-Jul-02
Sourav Ganguly 131 20-Jun-96
Mohammad Azharuddin 121 26-Jul-90
Ravi Shastri 100 26-Jul-90
Dilip Vengsarkar 126* 5-Jun-86
Dilip Vengsarkar 157 10-Jun-82
Gundappa Viswanath 113 2-Aug-79
Dilip Vengsarkar 103 2-Aug-79
Vinoo Mankad 184 19-Jun-52


Five-for by Indians to get to the Lord’s Honours board

Bowler Bowling Figures Date
Ishant Sharma 7/74 21-Jul-14
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 6/82 19-Jul-14
Praveen Kumar 5/106 21-Jul-11
RP Singh 5/59 19-Jul-07
Venkatesh Prasad 5/76 20-Jun-96
Chetan Sharma 5/64 5-Jun-86
Kapil Dev 5/125 10-Jun-82
Bishan Singh Bedi 6/226 20-Jun-74
Bhagwat Chandrasekhar 5/127 22-Jun-67
Ramakant Desai 6/89 19-Jun-59
Vinoo Mankad 5/196 19-Jun-52
Lala Amarnath 5/118 22-Jun-46
Amar Singh 6/35 27-Jun-36
Mohammad Nissar 5/93 25-Jun-32

Complete coverage of India’s tour of England 2014