IPL 2012 stats review: Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils

Pawan Negi recorded his career best bowling performance in Twenty20 claiming 4 for 18 against Rajasthan Royals on Tuesday AFP

Jaipur: May 2, 2012

Statistical highlights of the Indian Premier League match between Delhi Daredevils and Rajasthan Royals on Tuesday.

# Morne Morkel, with 19 wickets at 14.00 runs apiece in 10 games, is the top wicket-taker in the present edition of the IPL.

# Kevin Pietersen, during the course of his 36 off 34 balls, has completed his 300 runs in the present edition of the IPL, aggregating 305 at an average of 61.00 in eight innings, including a century and a fifty.

# Pietersen has recorded 20 sixes in the present edition – a tally exceeded only by Chris Gayle’s 25.

# Pawan Negi (4/18) has recorded his career-best bowling performance in Twenty20 – his first four-wicket haul.

# Negi’s magnificent performance is the best by a Delhi Daredevils’ bowler against Rajasthan Royals in the IPL,

# Negi’s aforesaid feat is the third best for Delhi Daredevils in the IPL. Amit Mishra had claimed 5 for 17 against Deccan Chargers at Delhi on May 15, 2008 and Rajat Bhatia’s 4 for 15 against Deccan Chargers at Durban on May 13, 2009.

# Negi has been adjudged the Man-of-the-Match for the first time in the IPL.

# Virender Sehwag has become the first player to post five fifties in succession in the history of Twenty20.

# The three batsmen recording four fifties in a row in Twenty20 were – Joe Denly (Kent), Lee Carseldine (Queensland) and Marcus Trescothick (Somerset).

# Sehwag became the first player to register 15 innings of fifty or more in the IPL – a century and 14 fifties.

# Virender Sehwag has totalled 445 at an average of 49.44 in 10 matches in the IPL 5 – his best performance in terms of run-aggregate in the IPL.

# Delhi Daredevils’ win by six wickets is their first in three games at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur in the IPL.

# Rajasthan Royals had defeated Delhi in the first two matches played at this venue – one each in 2008 and 2011.

# Sehwag had registered his fifty off 20 balls – the fastest by a Delhi player in Twenty20. He has eclipsed his own record of 21-ball half-century during his innings of 75 off 34 balls against Rajasthan Royals at Motera on March 15, 2010.

# The top four run-scorers in the IPL are – Suresh Raina (2010), Gautam Gambhir (1840), Virender Sehwag (1829) and Sachin Tendulkar (1817).

# Ajinkya Rahane is the top run-scorer in the IPL 5 – 458 at an average of 57.25, including a hundred and two fifties, in ten matches.

# Rahane’s above tally is the second highest by a Rajasthan batsman in an IPL competiton. Shane Watson had amassed 472 runs at an average of 47.20 in fifteen matches in 2008.

# Sehwag is now the first Delhi batsman to manage 400 runs or more in an IPL season three times – 2008, 2011 and 2012.

# Sehwag and Gambhir are the two Delhi players to have recorded five fifties in an IPL season. (PTI)