IPL 2013: CSK sign five domestic bowlers

Chennai Super Kings have won the Indian Premier League twice © AFP

Chennai: Feb 5, 2013

Two-time champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have strengthened their bowling attack by signing five uncapped Indian bowlers ahead of the sixth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Uttar Pradesh fast bowlers Imtiaz Ahmed and Ankit Rajpoot, Haryana quick Mohit Sharma, Karnataka pacer Ronit More and Tamil Nadu left-arm spinner R Karthikeyan are the five to have been picked up by CSK, according to ‘ESPNcricinfo’.

In the Ranji Trophy this season, Imtiaz was the leading wicket-taker from Uttar Pradesh with 37 from nine matches at an average of 25.45, including three five-wicket hauls.

He was with the Pune Warriors in IPL 2011 but did not get a game.

In his first-class debut season this time, Rajpoot took 31 wickets from seven matches at an average of 18.80.

Mohit played eight Ranji matches this season, taking 37 wickets, averaging 23.24 runs per wicket.

More made his first-class debut this season playing two matches. Karthikeyan plays for TI Cycles in the first division league of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA).