IPL 2013 spot-fixing: 5 BCCI vice-presidents likely to resign, according to reports

Arun Jaitley (C) is one of the five vice-presidents of the BCCI © IANS

Mumbai: May 31, 2013

All five vice-presidents of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) are set to submit their resignation on Friday night, if media reports are to be believed, after BCCI Treasurer Ajay Shirke and Secretary Sanjay Jagdale had resigned from their respective posts on moral grounds.

Reports from NDTV suggest that all five vice-presidents — Sudhir Dabir, Niranjan Shah, Chitrak Mitra, Shivlal Yadav and Arun Jaitley — are not keen on continuing their respective posts in the board.

With the resignation of two key board officials the pressure has further mounted on President N Srinivasan who had called for a working committee meeting on June 8.

After his resignation, Jagdale spoke to the media and said, “I have resigned from my post as the honorary secretary of the BCCI. I’m deeply hurt with the recent developments. Right now, it’s better I get out. Let some new faces come and handle the responsibility.”

Jagdale has also opted out of the three-member commission to investigate on spot-fixing set up by the BCCI.

He, however, refused to divulge the details of the resignation letter sent to Srinivasan.

Meanwhile, Shirke had already contemplated resigning as treasurer. “If Board continues to ignore what I consider is primary responsibility, I will find it difficult for myself to be associated with it. I will wait and see.

“A few days, maybe within a week, I will make up my mind. If there’s going to be more and more room for fingers to be pointed, I will have to take a call.

“I cannot let my personal reputation and credibility be tarnished. That for me stands above everything else,” Shirke said.

CNN IBN later reported that Shivlal Yadav is reluctant to put his papers as according to rules, if Srinivasan quits, Yadav will qualify to take the post from South Zone.

Read more stories on IPL 2013 spot-fixing controversy

Catch live updates of IPL 2013 spot-fixing controversy here