IPL 2013: Virender Sehwag's blitzkrieg gives Delhi Daredevils first win

Virender Sehwag scored unbeaten 95 to help Delhi secure their first win in IPL 2013 © IANS

By Sarang Bhalerao

Delhi: Apr 21, 2013

Delhi Daredevils thrashed Mumbai Indians by nine-wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla in the 28th match of the Indian Premier League.

Delhi’s professional display was unexpected after their six consecutive losses in this edition of the IPL. Mahela Jayawardene and Virender Sehwag added 151 in 15.5 overs chasing 162 which looked too little in the end.

Delhi started their innings in an assured manner. Jayawardene began the innings with a nonchalant flick over mid-wicket that had shades of Viv Richards. Sehwag who had had problems with his indifferent form blasted his way against inexperienced Jasprit Bhumra. The inside-out shot and a six over mid-wicket turned the clock back.

Sehwag hit his 316th boundary in IPL, that made him the most celebrated boundary (includes sixes) in the league, courtesy of a flick off Munaf Patel. The next ball was a leg-glance which eluded short fine-leg for another boundary. Patel’s affinity towards leg-stump line hurt Mumbai. Jayawardene paddled the fourth ball of the over past ‘keeper Dinesh Karthik for another boundary. The fifth ball was a benign length ball on the middle-stump which was dispatched over mid-wicket. After five overs Delhi raced to 51 for no loss.

Even Lasith Malinga had no answer to Sehwag’s belligerence; a flick past square leg and a cut past point were two top quality shots. Delhi scored 60 in the Powerplay overs.

While Sehwag was going hammer and tongs, Jayawardene was bringing into equation his finesse. The maverick style of Delhi captain came to the fore when he paddle swept Dwayne Smith for a big six. Mumbai were bewildered by Delhi’s carnage.

Malinga produced a stunning yorker dismissing Jayawardene. That was the only bright spot in the innings.

Harbhajan Singh, Smith and Pollard were slaughtered.

The highlight Mumbai innings was the third wicket partnership of 96 off 67 deliveries between Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma. Tendulkar scored 54 off 47 balls and got out in the 17th over, trying to force the issue against Umesh Yadav, after reaching his fifty. Sharma scored 73 off 43 deliveries.

Mumbai, at the half time looked favourites but the dynamic duo of Delhi were just too good.

Brief Scores: Mumbai Indians 161 for 4 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 73, Sachin Tendulkar 54; Umesh Yadav 2 ffor 31) vs Delhi Daredevils 165 for 1 in 17 overs (Virender Sehwag 95*, Mahela Jayawardene 59) by 9 wickets.

Man of the Match: Virender Sehwag

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery

(Sarang Bhalerao hails from a family of doctors, but did his engineering. He then dumped a career in IT with Infosys to follow his heart and passion and became a writer with CricketCountry. A voracious reader, Sarang aspires to beat Google with his knowledge of the game! You can follow him on Twitter here)