RR pipped DD in their earlier encounter at Jaipur  ©  AFP
RR pipped DD in their earlier encounter at Jaipur © AFP

Delhi Daredevils vs Rajasthan Royals latest updates: Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of VIVO IPL  2018, Match 32. The match will see Shreyas Iyer’s Delhi Daredevil (DD) take on Ajinkya Rahane-led Rajasthan Royals (RR). The match will be played at Ferozshah Kotla in Delhi. We will be bringing you the live updates, interesting tweets and stat facts from the cyberspace. The last time these two sides met, RR piped DD in a rain-curtailed tie by 10 runs.

This time Iyer will lead DD. Under him, Delhi have shown improvement in batting and bowling. They won against Kolkata Knight Riders, and lost a narrow match against Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Indian domestic talents like Prithvi Shaw and Vijay Shankar have finally announced themselves on the big stage. Their bowling too has been slowly getting into a groove with the introduction of Liam Plunkett.

RR, on the other hand, find themselves in a tough position in the points table. They need to win most of their upcoming games to have a shot at playoffs. Money-spenders like Ben Stokes and Jaydev Unadkat continue to be a disappointment.  Sanju Samson and Jofra Archer have been single-handedly carrying them to victory.

Delhi Daredevils vs Rajasthan Royals Squads:

RR: Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Heinrich Klaasen, Ben Stokes, Stuart Binny, Rahul Tripathi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Shreyas Gopal, Ben Laughlin, Dushmantha Chameera

DD: Gautam Gambhir, Rishabh Pant, Naman Ojha, Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Glenn Maxwell, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Aavesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh, Trent Boult

Live Updates

  • 12:38 AM IST

    DD win by 4 runs (DLS). Trent Boult managed to defend 15 runs in the last over despite getting smacked for a 6. Krishnappa Gowatham did try to bring in the fun, but DD prevailed.

  • 12:22 AM IST

    OUT! D’Arcy Short falls for 44. He smacked Glenn Maxwell for 3 sixes back-to-back before giving a catch at third man. Krishnappa Gowtham or Jofra Archer should be out in the middle.

  • 12:20 AM IST

    OUT! Boult gets his second wicket. Ben Stokes fails yet again. He made just 1 run. Rahul Tripathi has come out in the middle to join D’Arcy Short.

  • 12:11 AM IST

    OUT! Sanju Samson falls for 3. Trent Boult manages to get rid of the dangerous Samson. D’Arcy Short has been joined by Ben Stokes.

  • 12:08 AM IST

    OUT! Jos Buttler has fallen for 67. He was doing all the scoring for RR. D’Arcy Short is clearly struggling for runs. Sanju Samson has joined him.

  • 11:53 PM IST

    FIFTY! Jos Buttler gets his fifty in 17 balls. This is the fastest fifty for RR; he has bettered Oawis Shah’s 19-ball 50.

  • 11:49 PM IST

    Rajasthan Royals are off to a flier. This has been a superb show by Jos Buttler and D’Arcy Short have been on a rampage. They have added 50 runs in 3 overs. Buttler has done most of the scoring; 43 to be precise.

  • 11:01 PM IST

    Rain interrupts play again. DD have managed to score 196 runs in 17.1 overs. It was Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant, who raged rampage at Kotla.

  • 10:46 PM IST

    OUT! Rishabh Pant goes for 69. He was looking to provide much needed boost to DD innings. Glenn Maxwell and Vijay Shankar are out in the middle. Sight drizzling on the field.

  • 10:24 PM IST

    Shreyas Iyer’s onslaught has continued despite fall of Prithvi Shaw. Rishabh Pant has joined in the festivities. Both have added 50 runs in less than 30 balls. Ajinkya Rahane is looking out of ideas.

  • 10:05 PM IST

    OUT! Shreyas Gopal gets rid of Prithvi Shaw. He has to depart for 47. It was slower ball that Shaw hit straight back to the bowler. Shreyas Iyer has been joined by Rishabh Pant.

  • 9:58 PM IST

    This has been a superb recovery by DD. Prithvi Shaw in particular has taken the attack to the bowlers. Shreyas Iyer too has joined in the festivities. Both have added 61 runs in just 32 balls.

  • 9:33 PM IST

    OUT! Colin Munro goes for 0. Hardly any feet movement from Munro. Dhawal Kulkarni gets his first wicket.

  • 9:31 PM IST

    Prithvi Shaw and Colin Munro are out in the middle. DD will hope both players will once again provide them a good start. Shaw has been on fire so far. Dhawal Kulkarni will open proceedings for Rajasthan Royals.

  • 9:13 PM IST

    The match has been converted in 18 overs a side, match will start at 9.30 pm.

  • 8:58 PM IST

    Inspection will take place at 9.10

  • 8:03 PM IST

    The rains are getting heavier accompanied with lighting.

  • 8:00 PM IST

    Bad news for fans at Delhi. Rains ensure start of play is delayed.

  • 7:44 PM IST

    Shreyas Iyer: “I don’t think dew would come in. If it would have, it would have come by now. Lot of learnings from the last game. We were 74 for 4 and to reach close to 200 was really a commendable job. We took a lot of positives. We have got one change. Shahbaz Nadeem comes in for Rahul Tewatia.”

  • 7:39 PM IST

    Ajinkya Rahane: “We are looking to chase. Wicket looks pretty good. We are going to back our bowlers in the first innings. We have been playing some good cricket but we need to do that over a period of 40 overs. The mood in our camp is very good. D’Arcy Short comes in for Ish Sodhi. Shreyas Gopal comes in as well.”

  • 7:34 PM IST
    Rajasthan Royals (XI): Ajinkya Rahane(c), D Arcy Short, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(wk), Rahul Tripathi, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat

    Delhi Daredevils ( XI): Prithvi Shaw, Colin Munro, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(wk), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Liam Plunkett, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Avesh Khan, Trent Boult
  • 7:32 PM IST

    DD make one change. Rahul Tewatia goes out, Shahbaz Nadeem comes in.

    RR rope in D’Arcy Short for Ish Sodhi and Shreyas Gopal.
  • 7:30 PM IST

    TOSS: Rajasthan Royals win toss, Ajinkya Rahane opts to field