Deepak Hooda, IPL 2018,
Deepak Hooda kept his calm to guide SRH to a win AFP

Mayank Markande earned the Purple Cap and brought Mumbai Indians (MI) at brink of a famous win. Jasprit Bumrah and Mustafizur Rahman marked remarkable turnarounds, getting two wickets each in the 17th and penultimate over. Their batsmen just did not do enough as Deepak Hooda’s calmness became Sunrisers Hyderabad’s (SRH) crutch as they limped to a 1-wicket win in the Match 7 of the VIVO IPL 2018 at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium at Hyderabad.

Needing 11 off the last over, Rohit Sharma turned to Ben Cutting having finished Bumrah and Mustafizur’s quota. Hooda greeting Cutting with a six and almost perished at short fine-leg in the penultimate ball when SRH needed 2 off 2 balls. Billy Stanlake, the No. 11, had to finish it and he slogged over midwicket to help SRH to the top spot of the IPL Points Table.

Highlights, IPL 2018, SRH vs MI, Full Cricket Score and Updates, Match 7 at Hyderabad: SRH win
Highlights, IPL 2018, SRH vs MI, Full Cricket Score and Updates, Match 7 at Hyderabad: SRH win

SRH were cruising towards a comfortable win. Chasing 148, they had got to 56 for no loss after Powerplay. Then came Markande, MI’s star from the previous match. His guile got the better of Wriddhiman Saha, the well-set Shikhar Dhawan and Manish Pandey. Meanwhile, Mustafizur Rahman got the big wicket of Kane Williamson. After a 62-run opening stand, they were reduced to 89 for 4 at the halfway mark. Part of MI’s success was smart use of their DRS calls.

The 20-year-old leggie struck again in the 14th over, sending back Shakib Al Hasan, as he went on to register his best figures in T20s.

Hooda was joined in the crease by Yusuf Pathan. The duo added run-a-ball 29 before Yusuf gave it away in the 18th over.

SRH elected to bowl and Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s absence did not hamper SRH’s bowling plans as they restricted MI to 147 for 8 in their stipulated 20 overs. Rashid Khan bowled 18 dot balls in his four overs to finish with 1 for 13. Rashid was well supported by Sandeep Sharma (2 for 25) and Siddarth Kaul (2 for 29).

None of the MI batsmen could cross the 30-mark. Evin Lewis top-scored with a 17-ball 29, before falling in the final ball of the Powerplay. Suryakumar Yadav consumed 31 balls but could manage just 28.

Brief scores

Mumbai Indians 147 for 8 in 20 overs [Evin Lewis 29 (17); Sandeep Sharma 4-0-25-2, Siddarth Kaul 4-0-29-1, Rashid Khan 4-0-13-1] lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad 151 for 9 in 20 overs [Shikhar Dhawan 45 (28), Deepak Hooda 32 (25)*; Jasprit Bumrah 4-0-32-2, Mayank Markande 4-0-23-4, Mustafizur 4-0-24-3] by 1 wicket

Full Scorecard