Live Updates

  • 11:48 PM IST

    THATS IT! MS DHONI remains unbeaten on 79*. KXIP have won the match by 4 runs. Mohit Sharma was able to defend 17 runs off the last over.

  • 11:33 PM IST

  • 11:33 PM IST

    FIFTY! MS Dhoni brings up his fifty in 34 balls. This is also his 18th IPL half-century. CSK need 36 off 12 balls.

  • 11:13 PM IST

  • 11:07 PM IST

    OUT! Ravichandran Ashwin is on the money. He manages to hit the stumps from mid off. Ambati Rayudu had given up on the run. He falls for 49. MS Dhoni is joined by Ravindra Jadeja

  • 11:03 PM IST

  • 11:01 PM IST

    KXIP vs CSK, Match Updates: MS Dhoni is seen getting some treatment on his lower back. Ambati Rayudu is the key player for CSK. He needs to get into the third gear. Mujeeb Zadran and Andrew Tye will be crucial for KXIP’s success.

  • 10:32 PM IST

    OUT! Ravinchandran Ashwin comes and gets rid of Sam Billings. This is now looking tougher by the wicket for Chennai Super Kings. Billings made just 9 runs. Ambati Rayudu is joined by MS Dhoni.

  • 10:20 PM IST

    OUT! Murali Vijay departs for 12. Andrew Tye comes into his first over and produces an result instantly. Second catch of the match for Barinder Sran. Sam Billings in the middle.

  • 10:07 PM IST

    OUT! Shane Watson falls for 11. Mohit Sharma gets his man. Watson was looking to break the shackles. This is just the start KXIP would have hoped for. Murali Vijay is joined by Ambati Rayudu.

  • 9:59 PM IST

    KXIP vs CSK, Match Updates: Murali Vijay and Shane Watson are out in the middle for CSK. They need 198 runs to win. It will be a stiff target for the visitors, giving KXIP’s all round bowling unit. It will be interesting how CSK handle Mujeeb Zadran in the middle overs.

  • 9:31 PM IST

    KXIP vs CSK, Match Updates: Chennai have managed to pull things back. KXIP have been guilty of losing too many wickets. Imran Tahir as always controlled the flow of runs. Important that Karun Nair take the strike in the remaining overs.

  • 9:10 PM IST

    KXIP vs CSK, Match Updates: KXIP need to get a move on here. Yuvraj Singh and Mayank Agarwal have to start upping the ante. CSK with the wicket of Gayle have managed to pull things back. And just as we were saying, Agarwal falls for 30. Imran Tahir getting his first wicket. KXIP 149 for 3. Aaron Finch is the new man.

  • 8:57 PM IST

    KXIP vs CSK, Match Updates: OUT! Chris Gayle falls playing a nothing shot. Shane Watson does the trick with his slower ball. Imran Tahir takes a simple catch at fine leg. Yuvraj SIngh is the new man in the middle.

  • 8:40 PM IST

    OUT! KL Rahul falls for 37. It was a super catch by DJ Bravo. Rahul could have played the ball anywhere in the ground. Harbhajan Singh gets his first wicket.

  • 8:33 PM IST

    50! 22nd IPL half-century for Chris Gayle. This has been a savage attack on the CSK bowling. How RCB wished they had Gayle today at Chepauk.

  • 8:30 PM IST

    KXIP vs CSK, Match Updates: Chris Gayle is on fire. He has smoked 46 runs in just 21 balls. He has already his 6 fours and 3 sixes. KL Rahul on the other end is matching Gayle shot-for-shot. After 1st Powerplay KXIP are 75 for 0.

  • 8:15 PM IST

    KXIP vs CSK, Match Updates: This has been a good start for KXIP. Both KL Rahul and Chris Gayle are looking to take the match away from CSK’s grasp. It is important that KXIP yield as many runs as possible in the Powerplay overs. Gayle has so far looked unlike himself, playing with control.

  • 8:00 PM IST

    KXIP vs CSK, Match Updates: Chris Gayle and KL Rahul are out to bat in the middle. This is Gayle’s debut match for Gayle. He has played for KKR and RCB as well. Deepak Chahar will open the bowling for CSK. Rahul in his last outing at Mohali scored fastest IPL fifty.

  • 7:42 PM IST

    Ashwin: ” Too early to get any spice in the tournament. We will treat it just as a normal game. We have two got two changes. Unfortunately, Axar Patel has a small niggle and he misses out. Barinder Sran comes in place of him and Chris Gayle is in for Marcus Stoinis.”

  • 7:41 PM IST

    Dhoni: “We are bowling first. Pitch looks good as of now, quiet a few venues are getting dew. It is too early for any spice in the tournament. We have a forced change. Suresh raina is not fit, he is not ready so Murali Vijay comes in place of him. I don’t have any serious niggle. We are a team of over-aged people so we have to keep ourselves fit. It is all about the process.”

  • 7:40 PM IST

    Chennai Super Kings (XI): Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Murali Vijay, MS Dhoni(wk/c), Sam Billings, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur

  • 7:38 PM IST

    Kings XI Punjab (XI): Lokesh Rahul(wk), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Aaron Finch, Yuvraj Singh, Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

  • 7:38 PM IST

    Murali Vijay comes in for Suresh Raina

  • 7:37 PM IST

    Chris Gayle comes in for Marcus Stoinis

  • 7:33 PM IST

    TOSS: Chennai Super Kings win toss, MS Dhoni decides to field.

  • 7:25 PM IST

    Will we see Murali Vijay or Chaitanya Bishnoi in the CSK side for Suresh Raina?

  • 7:20 PM IST

    News from Mohali is that Barinder Sran might get a look in the KXIP side, replacing Mohit Sharma.

  • 7:19 PM IST

    For people, who do not know Suresh Raina will be missing his first match for CSK. He has played 158 consecutive matches for CSK.

Ravichandran Ashwin (L) and MS Dhoni © AFP
Ravichandran Ashwin (L) and MS Dhoni © AFP

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK) latest updates: Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the VIVO IPL 2018. We head to the Match No. 12 of the tournament between KXIP vs CSK at IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali. KXIP, after a solid start at home versus Delhi Daredevils (DD), fought hard before going down to Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Bengaluru. CSK, on the other hand, haven’t been the most convincing but still remain unbeaten in the current edition. They won the tournament opener versus defending champions, Mumbai Indians (MI), and also edged past Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the last over. Who will prevail this evening?

KXIP are coming off a defeat courtesy RCB by 4 wickets in their last encounter. After a flourishing start provided by KL Rahul, their middle order conceded the momentum. The likes of Karun Nair, Yuvraj Singh and Aaron Finch will be expected to make amends from their previous outing. In the bowling department, they will bank upon the spin trio — Ravichandran Ashwin, Akshar Patel and Mujeeb Ur Rahman — whereas Mohit Sharma and Andrew Tye can also curb the run-flow.

CSK’s batting order has been jolted due to Suresh Raina’s absence. He will miss his first game for CSK due to injury. It will be interesting to see who fills up for him. CSK bowlers will be led by Dwayne Bravo. However, apart from him, their bowling is weak in front of hosts. Will that prove costly?