Chennai Super Kings, CSK, IPL 2019, Indian Premier League
Chennai Super Kings are the defending champions of the Indian Premier League. @ PTI

The final of the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2019) will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on May 12 after the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) wasn’t given permission to open stands I, J and K. Chennai will now host Qualifier 1 while Vizag will host the Eliminator and Qualifier 2.

While the playoffs are generally hosted in the venues of the winners and runners-up, certain challenges have seen the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) face this issue wherein they had to bring in Vizag in the picture. Qualifier 1 will be played on May 7 in Chennai.

Hyderabad was expected to host the Eliminator and Qualifier 2, but due to local elections scheduled on May 6, 10 and 14, that will not be possible as the police will not be in a position to provide the required security and permissions. (ALSO READ: Can Sunrisers clinch hat-trick in Bairstow’s final game?)

“We had to shift the matches from Chennai to Hyderabad after TNCA intimated us that they have not procured the requisite permission to open the three stands I, J and K,” Committee of Administrators (CoA) chief Vinod Rai said on Monday.

“Since the gate sales of the knock-out matches is BCCI’s prerogative, we had to take a call. We would be having two knock-out matches in Vizag,” he added.

Asked if all the knock-out matches’ ticket sales are BCCI’s prerogative, why was Qualifier 1 allotted to Chennai, Rai reasoned: “CSK, by virtue of being defending champions, were allotted the Qualifier 1 and final. Now, if they finish in top two, you cannot take away all the games. They deserve to get at least one of the knock-out games.” (ALSO READ: ‘Dhoni gave us all a massive scare’)

Vizag was kept as back-up and will now host the Eliminator on May 8 and Qualifier 2 on May 10. Jaipur will host all the four women’s matches. While the first match on May 6 is clashing with elections, Rajasthan Cricket Association (CA) has got the required clearance. The three women’s teams will be Trailblazers, Supernovas and Velocity.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions of IPL 2019.