R Ashwin has won the toss and Kings XI Punjab have elected to bowl against the Bhuvneshwar Kumar-led Sunrisers Hyderabad. @BCCI

R Ashwin has won the toss and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) have elected to bowl against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the 22nd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium s IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on Monday.

KXIP have made two changes to their playing XI as Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Ankit Rajpoot replace Andrew Tye and Murugan Ashwin. SRH, meanwhile, have retained the same playing XI. (IPL 2019, KXIP vs SRH: FOLLOW LATEST UPDATES)

“We will be bowling first. We have two changes it is more in respect to the venue (AJ) Andre Tye and Murugan Ashwin miss out. Mujeeb and Rajpoot come in for them. It is more to do with the venue and the opposition. Mujeeb knows the conditions here and will use Rajpoot to swing the ball early,” said Ashwin.

“They (Warner and Bairstow) are quality players. Obviously a good ball is a good ball, there is a bit in it (surface), just try and swing the ball and probably have them nick off,” added the KXIP skipper.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who is leading SRH, also said that his side too would have bowled first had they won the toss.

“We would have bowled first as well. There is no option now. We have to set a total. This is a ground where dew is a big factor. Same team,” said the SRH skipper.

“It is one of the area we would like to improve. But if you look at our games, it was the first game they got a chance. It (bowling) is going good and I am really enjoying it,” added Bhuvneshwar.

Both the teams will be keen to return to the winning ways following their defeats in their respective previous games. While KXIP were beaten by Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians handed a 40-run defeat to SRH, courtesy Alzarri Joseph s 6/12 heroics on IPL debut. (ALSO READ: IPL 2019, CSK vs KXIP, Talking Points: Spin to win for Chennai Super Kings)


Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul (wicketkeeper), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, Sam Curran, Ravichandran Ashwin (captain), Ankit Rajpoot, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Vijay Shankar, Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (captain), Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma