Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions. @ DNA India

The BCCI on Tuesday revealed that Season 12 of Indian Premier League will be held in India and will begin on March 23, 2019.

The Hon’ble Supreme Court of India appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) on Tuesday met in New Delhi to discuss the VIVO IPL 2019 venues and window. Based on the preliminary discussions with the appropriate central and state agencies / authorities, it was decided that the 12th edition of the world’s most popular and competitive T20 tournament will be scheduled to be played in India, the BCCI said in a statement.

CHECK OUT: IPL Auction 2019: How the eight franchises spent, who got whom

It is proposed that the VIVO IPL 2019 will commence on March 23, 2019. The detailed schedule will be finalised in consultation with the appropriate authorities.

It was speculated earlier that the BCCI may shift the cash-rich extravaganza abroad keeping in mind the 2019 General Elections. The BCCI was even working closely with the South Africa and UAE cricket boards and it had emerged that South Africa was the first choice.

ALSO READ: IPL Auction 2019: Will learn from Virat Kohli sir on how to be more consistent: Shivam Dubey

Another school of thought said that if not the entire season, then some part of the league may be shifted out of India. With the ICC World Cup 2019 scheduled to begin on May 30, the league will have to finish between March and April.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions.