Irani Trophy 2013: Mumbai field first against Rest of India as Virender Sehwag misses out

Sachin Tendulkar will be among the star attractions in the Irani Trophy match at the Wankhede Stadium © PTI

Mumbai: Feb 6, 2013
Mumbai captain Abhishek Nayar won the toss and has elected to field first in the Irani Trophy against Rest of India (RoI) at the Wankhede Stadium.
Nayar was the third-highest run getter in the recently concluded Ranji Trophy and replaced Ajit Agarkar as captain for the tie against RoI after the latter pulled out due to injury.
Earlier, Harbhajan Singh surprised everyone by walking out for the toss instead of Virender Sehwag, who was supposed to lead the side. It was reported that Sehwag pulled out due to an upset stomach.

Shami Ahmed too isn’t playing for RoI.


Mumbai: Wasim Jaffer, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Abhishek Nayar (c), Aditya Tare (wk), Javed Khan, Ankeet Chavan, Dhawal Kulkarni, Vishal Dabholkar, Shardul Thakur

Rest of India: Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Manoj Tiwary, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayadu, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Harbhajan Singh (c), Pragyan Ojha, Abhimanyu Mithun, S Sreesanth, Ishwar Pandey