India Women announced the 15-member squad for five-match T20I series for South Africa tour. Several new faces will be entering the squad. Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia and Pooja Vastrakar have earned maiden T20I call-ups. It will be the perfect opportunity for these youngsters to make the most of it as one strong performance could seal their spot in the squad ahead of the 2018 T20 Women’s World Cup. Meanwhile, Punam Raut, who last played a T20I in 2014 continued to be absent. Sushma Verma and Ekta Bisht were overlooked as well.

On the other hand, Nuzhat Parveen has been recalled in the squad. As for captaincy roles, Harmanpreet Kaur will don the hat. Smriti Mandhana will act as her deputy. Amongst the bowlers, India boasts of Deepti Sharma, Jemimah, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja and Poonam Yadav in their armoury.

The five-match T20I series will begin from February 13 at Potchefstroom. The fifth and final T20I will be held at Cape Town on February 24. Prior to that, India will play three-match ODI series starting February 5.

India Women T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Nuzhat Parveen (wk), Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav.