Tasmania beat Queensland by six wickets to reach the final of the 2018 JLT One-Day Cup, chasing down 177 with with 76 balls remaining Drummoyne Oval, Sydney on Saturday.

After the bowlers bundled out Queensland for 177, Tasmania found themselves in trouble at 52 for 4, before skipper George Bailey (70*) and Simon Milenko (57*) combined for an unbeaten stand of 128 runs for the fifth wickets to lead their team to the final.

After Queensland into bat, Tasmanian bowlers struck at regular intervals not allowing their opposition to get away. Pacer Gabe Bell accounted for both the openers by first cleaning up hard-hitting teenager Max Bryant for 7 before picking up Sam Heazlett for 22.

Chris Lynn and departed in the next over after Heazlett s dismissal for 18 to Jackson Bird. Gurinder Sandhu added the wicket of Charlie Hemphrey for 28 while Joe Burns was removed by spinner Clive Rose.

Late resistance by Mark Steketee (30 off 38) meant Queensland huffed and puffed to 177 in 44.5 overs.

Bird, Bell, Rose, Sandhu and Thomas Rogers accounted for two dismissals each.

In chase, Tasmania were rocked early by Australia international Billy Stanlake who removed openers Ben McDermott (14) and Matthew Wade (0) before Luke Feldman added the scalps of Alex Doolan (27) and Jordan Silk (4), to leave Tasmania in a spot of bother.

However, Bailey and Milenko steadied the innings and took their team home

Brief Scores: Tasmania 180/4 (George Bailey 70*, Simon Milenko 57; Luke Feldman 2/20) beat Queensland 177 (Mark Steketee 30, Clive Rose 2/13) by six wickets