Joe Denly
Joe Denly (Getty Images)

Allrounder Joe Denly has been named the Players’ Player of the Year at the Professional Cricketers Association awards in London. Denly received a maiden Test callup for England for the Sri Lanka tour following an outstanding domestic season for Kent.

Denly won a total of three awards including Players’ Player of the Year, Vitality Blast Player of the Year, Royal London One-Day Cup Player of the Year. He was also named in the Team of the Year.

Pacer James Anderson, who recently surpassed Glenn McGrath as Test cricket’s most prolific fast bowler, was named Test player of the Summer. Surrey’s Ollie Pope, who made his Test debut against India in August, won the Young Player of the Year award.

The 32-year-old Denly was nominated for the award alongside teammate Matt Henry, Rory Burns (Surrey) and Rikki Clarke (Surrey).

Denly scored 1729 runs, took 57 wickets and became the first player in T20 history to score a century and claim a hat-trick in the same match. “Playing against fantastic cricketers throughout the years and being recognised for your contribution to your team, and what you achieved in that year is something very special and to be proud of,” Denly said. “The last couple of years is about enjoying cricket and having a good understanding of what works for me and what doesn’t, and really sticking to that and enjoying that.”


Complete list of awards

Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Players’ Player of the Year – Joe Denly

John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year – Ollie Pope

NatWest Women’s Player of the Summer- Sophie Ecclestone

Specsavers Test Player of the Summer – James Anderson

PCA One-Day International Player of the Summer – Jos Buttler

PCA County Championship Player of the Year – Tom Bailey (Lancashire)

Vitality Blast Player of the Year – Joe Denly (Kent)

Royal London One-Day Cup Player of the Year – Joe Denly (Kent)

ECB Special Award – Mick Hunt (Lord’s groundsman for 49 years of service)

Harold Goldblatt Award for the PCA Umpire of the Year – Michael Gough

Greene King PCA England Masters Player of the Summer – Ali Brown

Greene King Team of the Year: Rory Burns (Surrey, captain), Alex Davies (Lancashire), Joe Denly (Kent), Ian Bell (Warwickshire/Birmingham Bears), James Vince (Hampshire), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Dane Vilas (Lancashire, wk), Rikki Clarke (Surrey), Ed Barnard (Worcestershire), Matt Henry (Kent), Morne Morkel (Surrey)