Johnston returns as Ireland opt to bowl against South Africa

South Africa would look to confirm its place in the quarterfinals with a win over Ireland at Kolkata

By CricketCountry Staff

Kolkata: Mar 15, 2011

Ireland captain William Porterfield won the toss and elected to bowl against South Africa in their World Cup Group B match at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Seamer Trent Johnston returns to the Ireland side after recovering from a knee injury. He replaces Andre Botha while South Africa have drafted in Colin Ingram for indisposed AB de Villiers.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (c), Hashim Amla, Morne van Wyk (wk), Jacques Kallis, Colin Ingram, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel.

Ireland: William Porterfield (c), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O Brien (wk), Gary Wilson, Kevin O Brien, Alex Cusack, Trent Johnston, John Mooney, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin.

Pictures Getty Images