Jones, Bevan to assist head coach in Bangladesh T20 team

Former Australian batsman Dean Jones (L) will be technical director while Michael Bevan will serve as a batting coach Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Dhaka: Jan 20, 2012

Former Australian batsmen Dean Jones and Michael Bevan have accepted the coaching roles for Chittagong Kings franchise in Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 competition.

Chief executive officer of Chittagong Kings, Samir Q Chowdhury was quoted by Reuters as saying, “We have appointed Dean Jones as our technical director and Michael Bevan as our batting coach.”

Jones and Bevan will be assisted by former Bangladesh skipper Khaled Mahmud who will be head coach of the franchise.

The BPL is slated to commence from February 10. BPL will consist six teams which will play each other twice. It will happen in a round-robin format. The matches will be held at Chittagong and Dhaka.

Unlike the Indian version, teams can use five players in their side. Among the 25 foreign players who will be participating, Adam Gilchrist, Mathew Hayden, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Kamran Akmal and James Anderson will be playing too.