Kapil Dev, Anshuman Gaekwad in BCCI’s panel to select Women’s coach
Kapil Dev (AFP Image)

After the Cricket Advisory Committee decided to stay away from electing the next coach of the India national women’s team, the BCCI on Tuesday announced the ad-hoc committee which will be the body responsible for selecting the person in command, after the board decided not to extend Ramesh Powar’s contract following his infamous fallout with former India women captain Mithali Raj.

ALSO READ: Manoj Prabhakar applies for India women’s coach role

The three-member panel will be headed by former India captain Kapil Dev, former woman cricketer Shantha Rangaswamy and former India coach Anshuman Gaekwad, who will interview the eligible candidates in Mumbai on December 20.

As per reports, Powar is yet to re-apply for his position, and although captain and vice-captain of the India women’s team – Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana – had written to the BCCI asking for a contract extension, the board went against it. Whether Powar should remain in charge has received mixed reactions from current and former cricketers.

Former India allrounder Manoj Prabhakar, retired South Africa batsman Herschelle Gibbs and ex-England batsman Owais Shah have put their name in the hat. This further implies that Kapil will get to interview Prabhakar, probably the first time the two cricketers will engage in direct face-to-face interaction since Prabhakar accused Kapil of being involved during the Match Fixing scandal dating back to the year 2000.

Right from their playing days till the match-fixing controversy reared its ugly head in 2000, the Kapil-Prabhakar acrimony is well known in Indian cricket circles.