Islamabad United are the PSL defending champions
Islamabad United are the PSL defending champions (AFP Photo)

The fourth edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) will start from February 14 next year in the UAE with the final to be played in Karachi on March 17.

During a meeting of the PSL governing council in Lahore on Saturday, it was decided at the final eight matches of the season will be held in Pakistan.

“PSL 2019 will start on 14 February 2019 in the UAE and will move to Pakistan for the last eight matches of the tournament, with the final taking place in Karachi on 17 March,” spokesman of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said on Saturday.

During the meeting, chaired by new PCB chairman Ehsan Mani, the franchise agreed on holding the players draft in the last week of October and will depend on how the teams fared last season. However, a new formula from 2020 onwards will replace the current one to decide the picking order for franchises.

“It was decided that this year’s draft would be based on last year’s rankings with teams being allowed a maximum of 10 retentions. For PSL 5 onwards, all franchises agreed to introduce a randomized draft order,” the spokesman further said.

It was also agreed that franchise representatives will be part of the bid committees for various upcoming PSL rights with Mani welcoming the move.

“PCB and all PSL franchises are partners in this project and I am confident that we will all work together to bring in good numbers for our next rights cycle,” Mani said during the meeting.