Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the eighth match of the ongoing Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) 2016 between Kerala Strikers (KS) and Karnataka Bulldozers (KB) at the Nehru Stadium in Kochi on Sunday. Both sides have played a match in the tournament so far, with the two sides producing opposite results so far. Karnataka Bulldozers produced a superb all-round performance in their tournament opener against Chennai Rhinos — finishing on a massive score of 211 for six before bowling their opposition out for a meagre 128. Kerala Strikers, on the other hand, struggled in their fixture against Telugu Warriors, suffering a five-wicket defeat thanks to a half-century from Sudhir Babu.

Live Cricket Score, Kerala Strikers 168/4 in 18.4 Overs | Batting: Rajeev G Madan Mohan 36 (24), V Arun 29 (15): STRIKERS WIN!!!! Taht’s it. The Strikers pull out a comfortable win as they win by six wickets with eight balls to spare and also earn the much needed two points.

Live Cricket Score, Kerala Strikers 130/4 in 15 Overs | Batting: Rajeev G Madan Mohan 18 (12), V Arun 4 (5): GONE!!!! Couple more down as G Vivek Gopan and Rajeev Pillai make their way back for a couple and 38, respectively; while G Madan Mohan and V Arun are the new man in. Just 37 more required to win this tie. Can Kerala pull out a win here?

OUT! G Vivek Gopan b Prasanna 2 (6), Rajeev Pillai run out Sudeep 38 (32)

Live Cricket Score, Kerala Strikers 83/2 in 10 Overs | Batting: Rajeev Pillai 24 (33), G Vivek Gopan 0 (2): GONE!!!! Another wicket in the form of A Nandakumar does a mild damage as he goes for a healthy 43 after being bowled by Prasanna, while G Vivek Gopan comes in.

A Nandakumar b Prasanna 43 (33)

Live Cricket Score, Kerala Strikers 47/1 in 5 Overs | Batting: Pradeep 13 (14), Rahul 18 (16): Steady start by the Kerala Strikers as they almost bring up the 50 runs within the opening five overs, but for the price of a wicket in the form of B Kodiyeri, who fell trapped leg-before to Karthik, as A Nandakumar makes his way in.

OUT! B Kodiyeri lbw b Karthik 0 (2)

Live Cricket Score, Karnataka Bulldozers 167/7 in 20 Overs | Batting: K Sudeep 14 (10), Vishwas 7 (3): THAT’S IT!!!! Karnataka finish at a total of 167 for the loss of seven wickets, that looks to be an average total and should be an easy chase for  Kerala. However, it would also be interesting to see how the Bulldozers fair with the ball.

Live Cricket Score, Karnataka Bulldozers 116/4 in 15.3 Overs | Batting: Jayaram Karthik 12(9), Prathap 2(3): Sound of timber. Arun cleans up Rajeev for 35. This was Arun’s third wicket. Rajeev’s played a very brisk knock which included three boundaries and two sixes. Prathap is the new man at the crease. Karnataka Bulldozers will be hoping to go past 160. OUT! Rajeev b Arun 35(18)

Live Cricket Score, Karnataka Bulldozers 90/3 in 12.3 Overs | Batting: Rajeev 25(12), Jayaram Karthik 0(0): Dhruv Sharma is the first to go. He departs for four; good for Kerala Strikers since Dhruv could had become difficult to handle once he had got settled.  Pradeep also falls for 37 off 39 balls. Jayaram Karthick has come to bat. Kerala would want to pick one or two more quick wickets now to put pressure on the Bulldozers. OUT! Dhruv Sharma c Rajeev Pillai b Arun 4(6), OUT! Pradeep c Manikuttan b Arun 37(39)

Live Cricket Score, Karnataka Bulldozers 55/1 in 8 Overs | Batting: Pradeep 27(25), Dhruv Sharma 4(5): Rahul departs for run-a-ball 18. Dhruv Sharma has come to the middle after the departure of Rahul. Dhruv is known to be a very destructive batsman but will he come out good today as well? Let’s find out. Pradeep has struck two fours and a six in his innings so far. OUT! Rahul c Madan Mohan b Nandakumar 18(18)

Live Cricket Score, Karnataka Bulldozers 24/0 in 4 Overs | Batting: Pradeep 12(13), Rahul 8(11): Both the batsmen are now trying to hit hard but they are not able to execute their shots correctly. Pradeep finally times a ball pitched around his legs for a six over square leg region. The shot was very similar to what Sanath Jayasuriya used to play during his prime. Bulldozers need more of these.

Live Cricket Score, Karnataka Bulldozers 4/0 in 2 Overs | Batting: Pradeep 2(6), Rahul 2(6): Manikuttan is handed the new ball. He is bowling a good line and length. Both, Pradeep and Rahul are not looking to hit big shots off him. However, they are looking to take quick and cheeky singles. However, Rahul attempts a straight slog but is lucky that the ball dropped in no man’s land. Just three runs off his first over. Left-arm pacer V Mohan is bowling the second over. Batters are finding it hard to find gaps although they are able to get the ball in the middle of their bat.

Toss: Karnataka Bulldozers won the toss and opted to bat first


Kerala Strikers: Bala (c), Arun Benny (wk), Arjun Nandakumar, Rajeev Pillai, Bineesh Kodiyeri, Suresh Nair, Manikuttan, Madan Mohan, Vivek Gopan, Shafique Rehman,  Vinu Mohan   

Karnataka Bulldozers: Sudeep (c) (wk), Pradeep, Rahul, Dhruv Sharma, Rajeev, Jayaram Karthik, Pratap, Mahesh, Chandra, Prasanna, Sunil Rao

While Karnataka are led by leading actor Kichcha Sudeep, someone who is fitter than most fellow actors in the league. Kerala, on the other hand, are led by Vijayachandran Arun, who is equally handy with bat and ball. The two sides are part of Group B, which also comprises of Telugu Warriors and Chennai Rhinos. Group A, on the other hand, comprises of teams representing teams from Northern India — Bhojpuri Dabanggs, Mumbai Heroes, Punjab de Sher and Bengal Tigers.


Kerala Strikers squad for Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) 2016 tournament: Bala (c), Asif Ali, Unni Mukundan, Rajeev Pillai, Bineesh Kodiyeri, Manikuttan, Arjun Nandakumar, Vinu Mohan, Suresh Nair, Prajodh Kalabhavan, Riyaz Khan, Sreejith Ravi, Munna Simon,  Shafique Rahman, Madan Mohan, Vivek Gopan, Arun Benny.

Karnataka Bulldozers squad for Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) 2016 tournament: Sudeep (c), Darshan, Rajeev, Tharun Chandra, Tarun Sudhir, Dhruv, Vishwas, Pradeep, Rahul, Chetan, Dharma, Sunil Rao, Jayram Karthik, Abhimanyu, Mahesh, Rajesh, Mayur Patel.