Kolkata Knight Riders squad 2012: IPL team details with player names

KKR retained Gautam Gambhir as the captain for the 2012 season AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Mumbai: Mar 26, 2012

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is a Kolkata based franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL), co-owned by Bollywood super star Shah Rukh Khan’s company Red Chillies Entertainment in partnership with actress Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta. The team is currently captained by India batting star Gautam Gambhir.

As per the recent study done by a UK based brand valuation company, KKR are ranked as the second most valuable franchise brand in the cash-rich league. The official theme of the team is Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re and the official colors are purple and gold. The home of the team is Eden Gardens, the largest and most iconic cricket stadium in India.

In 2012, KKR added Brendon McCullum, Sunil Narine and Marchant de Lange to their already strong side which includes Brett Lee, Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan and Ryan ten Doeschate. The team will be coached by Trevor Bayliss, who replaced out-going Dav Whatmore. KKR also launched a new marketing campaign titled “New Dawn, New Knights” and a new logo.


Gautam Gambhir (c), Sarabjit Ladda, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Rajat Bhatia, Manvinder Bisla, Debabrata Das, Marchant de Lange, Brad Haddin, Iqbal Abdulla, Chirag Jani, Jacques Kallis, Brett Lee, Brendon McCullum, Eoin Morgan, Sunil Narine, Yusuf Pathan, James Pattinson, Sanju Samson, Iresh Saxena, Shami Ahmed, Shakib Al Hasan, Laxmi Shukla, Ryan ten Doeschate, Manoj Tiwary, Jaydev Unadkat

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 will be played at 12 venues over 54 days in India. Starting from April 4, 2012 to May 27, 2012 there will be 72 matches in the fifth season of IPL. The preliminary schedule has the nine franchises (teams) playing in this fifth edition.

IPL 2012 Schedule

Click here for all the news related to KKR