Photo:‏ @Achh15/Tiwtter
Photo:‏ @Achh15/Tiwtter

Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting was given a lap of honour at the MCG as part of his induction into the International Cricket Council‘s Hall of Fame during the tea break of the day one of the Boxing Day Test between India and Australia on Wednesday.

Ponting, along with India’s Rahul Dravid and Claire Taylor of England were inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame in July earlier this year during a ceremony in Dublin.

ICC started the honours in 2009 in association with Federation of International Cricketers’ Association (FICA). There were 55 initial inductees. With Dravid, Ponting, and Taylor, there are currently 87 members in the prestigious group.

Ponting is the 25th Australian to achieve the honour, entering the exclusive club behind former teammates Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath and Steve Waugh. In February, he was also inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

“I feel deeply honoured to be recognised by the ICC in this way,” Ponting said. “I loved every moment of my journey as a player and am so very proud of the team and personal achievements along the way.”

“These would not have been possible without the help of so many people including my teammates, coaches and support staff that played such an integral part in my playing career,” he added.

At the MCG, Ponting scored four Test hundreds and averaged more than 58 from 15 Tests.

Ponting, ICC Cricketer of the Year in 2006 and 2007 and ICC Test Player of the Year in 2006, has played four World Cup finals, winning in 1999, 2003 and 2007, the last two as captains. This includes a streak of 26 successive World Cup match wins. He also led Australia to the Champions Trophy titles in 2006 and 2009. His 13,378 runs is the second-most in history. His 13,704 ODI runs have been exceeded by only two men.

Here is the complete list of ICC Hall of Fame inductees:


Inductee Team Year
Allan Border Australia 2009
Bill O’Reilly Australia 2009
Clarrie Grimmett Australia 2009
Dennis Lillee Australia 2009
Donald Bradman Australia 2009
Greg Chappell Australia 2009
Ian Chappell Australia 2009
Keith Miller Australia 2009
Neil Harvey Australia 2009
Ray Lindwall Australia 2009
Richie Benaud Australia 2009
Rod Marsh Australia 2009
Steve Waugh Australia 2009
Victor Trumper Australia 2009
Alan Knott England 2009
Alec Bedser England 2009
Brian Statham England 2009
Colin Cowdrey England 2009
David Gower England 2009
Denis Compton England 2009
Derek Underwood England 2009
Frank Woolley England 2009
Fred Trueman England 2009
Geoffrey Boycott England 2009
Graham Gooch England 2009
Harold Larwood England 2009
Herbert Sutcliffe England 2009
Ian Botham England 2009
Jack Hobbs England 2009
Jim Laker England 2009
Leonard Hutton England 2009
Peter May England 2009
Syd Barnes England 2009
Tom Graveney England 2009
Wally Hammond England 2009
WG Grace England 2009
Wilfred Rhodes England 2009
Bishan Singh Bedi India 2009
Kapil Dev India 2009
Sunil Gavaskar India 2009
Richard Hadlee New Zealand 2009
Hanif Mohammad Pakistan 2009
Imran Khan Pakistan 2009
Javed Miandad Pakistan 2009
Wasim Akram Pakistan 2009
Barry Richards South Africa 2009
Graeme Pollock South Africa 2009
Andy Roberts West Indies 2009
Clive Lloyd West Indies 2009
Clyde Walcott West Indies 2009
Everton Weekes West Indies 2009
Frank Worrell West Indies 2009
Garfield Sobers West Indies 2009
George Headley West Indies 2009
Gordon Greenidge West Indies 2009
Lance Gibbs West Indies 2009
Malcolm Marshall West Indies 2009
Michael Holding West Indies 2009
Rohan Kanhai West Indies 2009
Viv Richards West Indies 2009
Ken Barrington England 2010
Rachael Heyhoe-Flint England 2010
Courtney Walsh West Indies 2010
Joel Garner West Indies 2010
Alan Davidson Australia 2011
Belinda Clark Australia 2011
Fred Spofforth Australia 2011
Curtly Ambrose West Indies 2011
Glenn McGrath Australia 2012
Enid Bakewell England 2012
Brian Lara West Indies 2012
Adam Gilchrist Australia 2013
Shane Warne Australia 2013
Waqar Younis Pakistan 2013
Bob Simpson Australia 2014
Debbie Hockley New Zealand 2014
Betty Wilson Australia 2015
Anil Kumble India 2015
Martin Crowe New Zealand 2015
Wes Hall West Indies 2015
Arthur Morris Australia 2016
Karen Rolton Australia 2016
George Lohmann England 2016
Muttiah Muralitharan Sri Lanka 2016
Ricky Ponting Australia 2018
Rahul Dravid India 2018
Claire Taylor England 2018