Afghanistan will look to whitewash the series © Getty Image
Afghanistan will look to whitewash the series © Getty Image

Afghanistan pulled off an another nail-biting win as they beat Zimbabwe by five runs against Zimbabwe and lead the two-match series 1-0. Zimbabwe needed 21 to win off the final over, but managed to fall just short eventually.For Afghanistan it was another collective effort only adding to the further proof of their ever-improving batting. Mohammad Shahzad again managed  to give them an explosive start at top of the order and the rest of the innings just flowed in delightful fashion.Gulbadin Naib produced a fantastic knock of  37 runs in the latter stages of the game to take Afghanistan to a truly challenging total. Live Cricket Scorecard: Afghanistan vs Zimbabwe 2015-16, 2nd T20I at Sharjah

Zimbabwe will seek a greater team effort rather than just a few players contributing in a big way. If the ODI series was any measure to go by, they are expected come back hard in the second T20I. Zimbabwe’s response with the bat was admirable especially against the good bowling attack Afghanistan possess. Malcolm Waller’s unbeaten 37-ball 49 was one of the star performances. Zimbabwe definitely need more in the batting  line-up to get their game up. Zimbabwean seam bowlers will to the batsmen content early on but and need to bowl with greater accuracy and guile towards the death. Experience of the off-spinner Graeme Cremer came in being as he returned impressive figures of 3-17.


Afghanistan: Asghar Stanikzai (c), Dawlat Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Mirwais Ashraf, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Rashid Khan, Samiullah Shenwari, Shafiqullah Shafiq, Yamin Ahmadzai, Amir Hamza, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Sadiq, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Nawroz Mangal, Rahmat Shah, Rokhan Barakzai, Sayed Shirzad, Usman Ghani, Nawaz Khan.

Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (c), Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Neville Madziva, Wellington Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami (wk), Tinashe Panyangara, Malcolm Waller, Chamu Chibhabha, Graeme Cremer, Luke Jongwe, Hamilton Masakadza, Peter Moor, Taurai Muzarabani, Sikandar Raza.