Pakistan are the defending champions of the Asia Cup © Getty Images
Pakistan are the defending champions of the Asia Cup © Getty Images


Feb 25, 2014


Defending Champions Pakistan will be taking on Sri Lanka in the opening encounter of the Asia Cup 2014 at Fatullah on Tuesday. A young Pakistan side at the back of two consecutive series win against South Africa and Sri Lanka. Meanwhile, the Sri Lankans are coming into this series with a clean sweep against Bangladesh.


The series win over Sri Lanka early this year, gives Pakistan the edge in the encounter. But given the young side of the two teams, there is still the unpredictable feel to the match. A stiff encounter to kick start the Asia Cup.


With just over a week separating the Asia Cup final and the start of  ICC World T20 2014, all the five teams of the Asia Cup will be eyeing to polish their playing XI in the 50-over format to excel in the T20s.




Pakistan: Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Misbah-ul-Haq(c), Umar Akmal(wk), Shahid Afridi, Bilawal Bhatti, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan


Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (c), Chaturanga de Silva, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal.


Catch Live score and ball-by-ball commentary of the first Asia Cup match between Pakistan and Sri lanka