Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 2 of the Group B game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Baroda and Mumbai, live from Vadodara. Mumbai hit back after a poor start to finish Day One on 317 for 3. and Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav will be expected to go all guns blazing on Day Two. Given the start, and the fact that they have the likes of Abhishek Nayar and Aditya Tare to follow, a score of 550 to 600 certainly looks on the cards. Despite using as many as eight bowlers, Aditya Waghmode could not get the better of Akhil Herwadkar, Iyer, and Yadav. READ: Ranji Trophy 2015-16, full coverage here

Live cricket scores Baroda 133/1 | Overs 45 | Batting: Kedar Devdhar 84(128), Aditya Waghmode 35(127): At stumps, Baroda trail the visitors by 314 runs. A K Argal’s four wickets helped Baroda bowl out the 40-times champions for 447 in 127.1 overs. The other wicket-takers for Baroda were Sagar Mangalorkar, Hardik Pandya and Yusuf Pathan. Pathan was even involved in the excellent run out that dismissed the on-fire batsman Shreyas Iyer for 173. Meanwhile, Dhawal Kulkarni has made an early brekathrough for Mumbai, as he had removed Baroda’s opening batsman Monil Patel for 15-ball 10 in the sixth over. OUT! Monil Patel c Surya Kumar Yadav b Dhawal Kulkarni 10(15)

Live cricket scores Mumbai 447/9 | Overs 127 | Batting: Abhishek Nayar 89(120), Vishal Dabholkar 5(37): The last batsman to have been dismissed is Shardul. Baroda’s Monil Patel got him run out on the first dleivery of the 107th over. Since then, the 40-times champions have added 70 runs, excellent partnership between Vishal and Nayar for the last wicket, this is defitely frustrating for the hosts. OUT! Shardul Run Out Monil Patel 24(31)

Live cricket scores Mumbai 327/8 | Overs 97 | Batting: Abhishek Nayar 0(6), Shardul 0(2): Although it was expected that Shreyas Iyer and Surya Kumar Yadav will carry the momentum in Day 2 as well, but unfortunately for Mumbai, while Iyer added another six runs, Yadav managed just two runs before they walked back to the pavilion. Mumbai skipper Aditya Tare once again failed with the bat, he lasted 18 balls, scoring just one run. The likes of Siddesh Lad and Abhishek Raut were dismissed without scoring a run.

OUT! Shreyas Iyer Run Out Yusuf Pathan 177(183)
OUT! Surya Kumar Yadav c P R Shah b A K Argal 68(160)
OUT! Aditya Tare c Yusuf Pathan b H H Pandya 1(18)
OUT! Siddesh Lad c P R Shah b A K Argal 0(4)
OUT! Abhishek Raut c S S Mangalorkar b A K Argal 0(9)

Tare surprised everyone by sending Dhawal Kulkarni to open with Herwadkar after he won the toss. Kulkarni hung around for a 32-ball 3 before Ajitesh Argal ran through his defence. Shrideep Mangela did not last long, and with Mumbai on 64 for 2 in the 26th over, Baroda had every reason to feel confident. Unfortunately for the hosts, Herwadkar (67 in 129 balls, 8 fours) batted on, adding 57 in 80 balls with the in-form Iyer. Herwadkar eventually fell to Hardik Pandya. Iyer, who had already slammed the fourth-fastest First-Class double-hundred by an Indian earlier in the series, was joined by Yadav.

Iyer (167 in 176 balls, 13 fours, 4 sixes) flogged the Baroda attack for the rest of the day. Yadav (66 in 140 balls, 4 fours) played the perfect foil, and the pair batted at breakneck pace, putting up 196 at 4.18 an over. Things certainly look ominous for Baroda unless they break through early on Day Two.


Baroda: Aditya Waghmode (c), Pinal Shah (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Ajitesh Argal, Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Devdhar, Swapnil Singh, Monil Patel, Sagar Mangalorkar, Murtuja Vahora.

Mumbai: Aditya Tare (c & wk), Akhil Herwadkar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shrideep Mangela, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Abhishek Nayar, Vishal Dabholkar, Siddhesh Lad, Shardul Thakur, Abhishek Raut.