Robin Uthappa was run out for 47 © AFP
Robin Uthappa was run out for 47 © AFP

Dec 1, 2014

(Will South Zone continue their dominance, or West Zone triumph? Catch live cricket score of the second semi-final here)

West Zone complete a memorable two-wicket win, with Akshar Patel smashing a six off the first ball of the 48th over bowler by Baba Aparajith. Terrific work by Akshar Patel and Shardul Thakur towards the end to take West Zone into the final, where they meet East Zone at Mumbai. The contribution of the likes of Suryakumar Yadav (80), Ambati Rayudu (54) and Sheldon Jackson (51) cannot be put aside, as they built the foundation of the win.
Shardul Thakur is complimenting Akshar Patel’s presence at the crease, smashing a boundary in the first ball of the 45th over, as well as getting a six and a four off consecutive deliveries in the 47th over, taking the West Zone to the brink of victory. Thakur hit another six off the fifth delivery of the over when he smashed a rising delivery for a six towards fine leg. West Zone need two to win from 18 balls
Akshar Patel completes his third List A half-century, as the West Zone hopes lie heavily on his shoulders. WZ need another 31 runs from 36 balls, and Patel’s presence at the crease should be a source of worry for the South Zone bowlers.
West Zone lost their eighth wicket with 269 runs on the board, with 46 runs needed from 54 balls. Kulkarni attempts to flex his arms, but does not get enough meat on it as the substitute Sachin Baby takes a catch near the boundary.
OUT! Dhawal Kulkarni c sub (Baby) b Binny 0 (4)
Suryakumar Yadav brings up his 10th List A fifty. Can he win this one for West Zone? Surya Kumar Yadav is playing a brilliant knock here and Akshar Patel is supporting him well. Oh No!!! Yadav is dismissed after scoring 80 off just 56 balls.
OUT!!!!SA Yadav c Aparajith b Binny 80 (56)
West Zone is losing quick wickets here and the run-rate is also pitching up really quick. 125 runs needed from 90 balls. Akshar Patel has come in to join Suryakumar Yadav now.
OUT!!!!DJ Hooda st Uthappa b Pandey 1 (4)

AND ANOTHER ONE GONE! Kedar Jadhav has been dismissed. Huge wicket for South. Oh dear and now the West skipper Yusuf pulls a short one straight to the man at midwicket. West throwing away a good start here. Suryakumar is still out in the middle, and Deepak Hooda walks in at No. 7, but the warning bells must be ringing.
OUT! K Jadhav 15(24) c Pandey b Misal, Y Pathan 2(3) c Pandey b Vinay Kumar

South are in control at the moment, but West bat quite deep. West will need to up their run-rate though. Currently the required rate is over 7.5 runs per over, while their current rate is around 5.5 per over.

Rayudu is dismissed as well here. West will need to stabilise here, they have lost both their set batsmen. Kedar Jadhav joined by Suryakumar Yadav. West bat very deep, but they need to get a platform from which to launch an attack.
OUT! A Rayudu 54(53) lbw b Vinay Kumar

Ambati Rayudu gets to his half-century in grand fashion! Huge six over midwicket. Sheldon Jackson gets to his 50 as well, but is dismissed almost immediately after!
OUT! S Jackson 51(57) c Samson b A Reddy
Stuart Binny takes the first wicket! Smit Patel dismissed for a slow 11 off 21. Sheldon Jackson is now joined by Ambati Rayudu. Jackson has looked good, and Rayudu was in superb form for India against Sri Lanka.
OUT! Smit Patel 11(21) b Binny

West off to a good start here. Sheldon Jackson and Smit Patel are making sure they give their side a steady platform from which to kick on.

Four wickets lost, but a pile of runs scored in the last five overs as South Zone finish on 314 for the loss of seven. Mayank Agarwal remained the highest scorer with 86 runs. West Zone need 315 to win in 50 overs.

Manish and Nair batting really well at the moment. They have put South in an ideal position from where they can launch an all-out assault. West will desperately want to break through here.

South have made steady progress and are now in an ideal position from which to launch an all-out assault. Baba Aparajith departs for a well-compiled 56, giving a catch to Shardul Thakur off Dhawal Kulkarni. Two big hitters out in the middle now, Manish Pandey and Karun Nair.
OUT! B Aparajith 56(64) c Thakur b Kulkarni

AND ANOTHER ONE DOWN! Huge wicket, Mayank departs for a well-made 86 off 87 balls. Poor shot after having batted so very well, Mayank steps out and plays a wild slog off Deepak Hooda. He missed the ball by a mile and Smit Patel finished the stumping without any trouble.
OUT! M Agarwal 86(87) st Smit b D Hooda

Aparajith scored a superb ton in the last game. Had it not been for him Central could well have been playing this match instead. Mayank meanwhile is batting really well at the other end. He has been very impressive this season, first for Karnataka and now for South Zone.

AND FINALLY A WICKET FALLS! It’s the senior pro, Robin Uthappa has been run out. Uthappa tapped the ball to third man, but it was never going to be a run. Shardul Thakur throws the ball in and Uthappa is short of his ground. Baba Aparajith is the new man in.
OUT! R Uthappa 47(49) run out

Akshar into the attack from the 11th over. He was superb in the ODI series against Sri Lanka. Can he continue his good form here? Mayank and Uthappa continue to dominate. Both men are closing in on half-centuries.

Uthappa and Mayank continue to dominate. They have batted quite confidently and are continuing to toy with the bowling. Dominic Joseph bowls the 10th over and concedes just two runs off it. He was introduced in the sixth over.

South Zone are off to a wonderful start here, Uthappa and Mayank have been aggressive and intelligent in their batting. Dhawal Kulkarni and Shardul Thakur are being dealt with easily by the pair. These two have hit seven boundaries between them.


Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s coverage of the second semi-final of the Deodhar Trophy 2014-15 between South Zone and the West Zone at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Monday.

South Zone trounced Central Zone by 116 runs in the Deodhar Trophy quarter final at Mumbai on Saturday. After a fantastic century from Baba Aparajith and a belligerent 74 from Karun Nair helped South Zone to a commanding total of 296 for nine, their bowlers ensured that Central Zone were never quite in the hunt.

Central Zone, arguably one of the best bowling sides of the tournament, were clearly lacking in the batting department. In the absence of the talismanic Naman Ojha, Central struggled to find a batsman who could bat through the innings, as their highest scorer was No. 7 Arjit Gupta, who scored the only half-century of the innings.

Baroda all-rounder Yusuf Pathan will lead West Zone in the Deodhar Trophy inter-zonal one-day knock-out tournament to be played in Mumbai from November 29 to December 3. West are drawn to meet the winners of the quarter-final match between South and Central in one of the two semi-finals on December 1. Yusuf has captained Baroda in the past, but this will be his first time as captain of West Zone, PTI reported.