Live Updates

  • 7:01 PM IST

    A tournament that was not supposed to happen in the first place saw India Red take the title home. With a day and half still to go, the Reds ensured they wrapped the Blues within 48 overs. Washington Sundar was rightly named Man of the Match with 11 wickets and 130 runs. Vijay Gohil also assisted the spinner ending with 8 wickets in the match.

    Suresh Raina and co. did portray their champion game like last year but were unable to live up to the tag.
  • 5:38 PM IST

    Washington Sundar is the star at the moment. He has 10 wickets already in this match and two more wickets needed for India Red to lift their maiden title. Vijay Gohil too has timely supported his counterpart just like they did in the previous innings sharing 10 wickets between them. Meanwhile, Bhargav Bhatt is trying all he can to keep the momentum in India Blues favour. The Blues need another 205 to win

  • 4:46 PM IST

    IND Blue 132/4. Hooda 3, Bharat 0. Need 261 to win: There seems to be no respite for India Blue. Their in-form batsmen Raina as well as Tiwary are dismissed. Washington Sundar rules the roost with 3 wickets so far.

  • 4:05 PM IST

    IND Blue 86/2. Raina 16, Tiwary 27. Need 307 to win: India Blue can heave a sigh of relief after being bailed out from ruins. Raina and Tiwary have put up 39-run stand by tea. If these two can get on with the recovery mode, it will be a history in the making for India Blue as well as in Duleep Trophy.

  • 2:58 PM IST

    IND Blue 55/2. Raina 6, Tiwary 9. Need 338 to win: All is not going the right way for India Blue. They have lost both the openers and now the burden has fallen over the skipper, Raina and new batsman Manoj Tiwary. Sundar and Gohil continue their stupendous form getting wicket apiece. Long way to go for India Blue.

  • 2:23 PM IST

    IND Blue 17/0. Easwaran 7, Kishan 10, Need 376 to win: Kishan has surprisingly entered with Easwaran to open the innings. It does not come out much as a surprise as Kishan has opened in IPL for Gujarat Lions. With a huge target on hand, India Blue need a miracle to save them.

Dinesh Karthik and Suresh Raina © AFP
Dinesh Karthik and Suresh Raina © AFP

Good Afternoon, नमस्कार! Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog session of the fourth day of the Duleep Trophy 2017-18 Final between India Red and India Blue at Ekana International Cricket Stadium in Lucknow. India Red dominated the third day’s play of the Duleep Trophy final, reaching 187/7 at stumps, with an overall lead of 371 runs against India Blue. Washington Sundar (42 not out) and Siddharth Kaul (5 not out) went undefeated when the umpires decided to dislodge the bails for the night. Earlier, resuming from their overnight score of 185 for 5, India Blue’s overnight duo of opener Abhimanyu Easwaran and Jaydev Unadkat stretched their sixth wicket stand to 140 runs, with Easwaran reaching his fourth first class ton.

The Bengal right-hander smashed 15 boundaries in his 171-ball 127 while Unadkat played the perfect second fiddle, scoring a quickfire 90-ball 83, lashed with seven fours and four massive sixes. The duo looked threatening but it was once again the India Red spin duo of Sundar (5 for 94) and Vijay Gohil (5 for 121), who turned the tide in favour of the Dinesh Karthik-led Reds to skittle the opposition out for 299.

With a first innings lead of 184, the India Red side had a forgettable start to their second essay, losing four wickets for mere 58 runs but Baba Indrajith (59 from 116 balls) and Sundar stabilised the ship with a 77-run fifth wicket stand. Towards the end, Sundar along with Suryakumar Yadav (22) put on 29 runs before the latter departed.

For India Blue, the spin duo of Bhargav Bhatt (3 for 75) and Akshay Wakhare (2 for 53) shared five wickets between them.