Live Updates

  • 11:45 PM IST

    Mohammad Nabi adjudged Man-of-the-Match and Man-of-the-Series! Nawroz Mangal gets a stunning farewell. That’s all from here! Goodbye!

  • 11:28 PM IST

    Mohammad Shahzad, who finished the game with a boundary and got to his fifty, also created a record in the process. He had scored 80 against Oman in the semi-final earlier in the day. And with his 52* in the final later in the evening, Shazad became the only player to score 2 fifties in a single day in T20Is.

  • 10:55 PM IST

  • 10:52 PM IST

    Afghanistan are inaugural desertt20 champions! They’ve thrashed Ireland by 10 wickets. Huge win this!

    Mohammad Shahzad 52* and Nawroz Mangal 17* see the team through. This is another feather in Afghanistan cricket’s cap.

  • 10:49 PM IST

    He has played three dot balls. The signs are clear, he wants to finish it with a big shot!! Another dot ball. Four in a row from George Dockrell now.

  • 10:48 PM IST

    Scores are level, can Shahzad get to his fifty? He is unbeaten on 48 and is on strike.

  • 10:44 PM IST

    Carnage at Dubai, as Mohammad Shahzad’s belligerent striking has put Afghanistan on the verge of a famous win just inside the powerplay. Afghanistan are 64 without loss in 6 overs, Shahzad 46(32)* & Mangal 12(6)*.

  • 10:34 PM IST

    This might well be over inside the powerplay overs. Mohammad Shahzad is in a hurry. He is hammering the Ireland bowlers, as this contest turns out to be a lame one-sided one.

  • 10:30 PM IST

    As our stats-man Abhishek Kumar pointed out, it is a big moment in Nawroz Mangal’s career. He had announced his retirement from the game earlier to take up the role of national selector. He’s leading Afghanistan in this match. Earlier, he also got a guard of honour, as we told you.

  • 10:27 PM IST

    Afghanistan start with a bang! Mohammad Shahzad, like always, looks in a hurry. He has accumulated 16 off Boyd Rankin’s first over.

  • 10:25 PM IST

    We are back with Afghanistan’s reply!

  • 10:17 PM IST

  • 10:17 PM IST

  • 10:17 PM IST

  • 10:16 PM IST

  • 10:16 PM IST

  • 10:16 PM IST

  • 10:15 PM IST

    We will be back shortly after the innings break. Till then, we leave you with some statistical nuggets from our statistician Abhishek Kumar.

  • 10:12 PM IST

    Afghanistan played like the team-to-beat in the first half of the final of Desert T20 2017, as they bundled out Ireland for a paltry 71. While Mohammad Nabi picked up 4 for 10, Amir Hamza, Fareed Ahmad and Karim Janat picked up 2 wickets each. Nabi was also the stand-out performer against the same side in the group stage game, and had been adjudged as the Man-of-the-Match.

  • 10:05 PM IST

  • 10:02 PM IST

    Ireland have been bundled out for 71

  • 9:57 PM IST

    Ireland continue to go downhill in the final of Desert T20 2017, as they have now lost 8 wickets with just 66 runs on board.

  • 9:57 PM IST

    OUT! Jacob Mulder c Shahzad b Janat 0(1)

  • 9:54 PM IST

    OUT! George Dockrell c Shenwari b Fareed 8(14)

  • 9:53 PM IST

    So, so hard to believe the same side that scored 211 earlier today are playing in such a manner now. Check out Ireland’s innings earlier today, from the second semi-final against Scotland, here:

  • 9:49 PM IST

    Ireland 60/6, 11 overs: Afghanistan are firmly in control of the match, which has become a one-sided contest. Their bowlers, especially spinners, have taken wickets and tied things down for Ireland. The final of the first edition of Desert T20 is going Afghanistan’s way.

  • 9:39 PM IST

    Ireland 47/6, 8 overs: The match has been reduced to a one-sided contest. Afghanistan spinners Nabi and Hamza have not just choked the runs, but also taken quick wickets to reduced Ireland to 47 for 6 after 8 overs. Hard to believe the same side pummeled 211 earlier in the day during second semi-final.

  • 9:37 PM IST

    OUT! Andy McBrine b Amir Hamza 0(2)

  • 9:36 PM IST

    OUT! Gary Wilson lbw b Amir Hamza 3(6)

  • 9:31 PM IST

    It’s all happening here. Ireland are succumbing to Mohammad Nabi’s off-spin. He has taken 3 wickets in 2 overs to break the back of their batting. Ireland are reeling at 42 for 4 after 6 overs.


Good Afternoon, طاب مسائك, Tráthnóna maith! Hello and Welcome to the final of the ongoing Desert T20 2017, between Afghanistan and Ireland, at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday. I am Chinmay Jawalekar, and I will be bringing to you the live updates from the summit clash. Both the teams from Group A have made it to the final of the 8-team tournament. While Afghanistan have been unbeaten so far, winning all the group matches and the semi-final, Ireland have lost just a single match in their campaign so far. Interestingly, their only loss came against Afghanistan, their opponents in the final.

In the Group A match during the league stage, Afghanistan had defeated Ireland by 5 wickets at Abu Dhabi. Batting first, Ireland had scored 125 runs for the loss of 6 wickets.  Afghanistan chased down the total with eight balls to spare. Mohammad Nabi’s all-round performance in the match had earned him the Man-of-the-Match award. He first bowled a tight spell and picked up two wickets. Later, he scored unbeaten 26 off 17 balls to seal victory for his side. However, that victory notwithstanding, the final is not going to be an easy ride for the Afghanistan side.

FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Afghanistan vs Ireland, Desert T20 2017, Final at Dubai

Ireland have made a statement earlier in the day. The semi-finals as well as the final are scheduled to be played in the same day, and going by the form, Ireland look a threatening unit. In the second semi-final, they ended Scotland’s unbeaten streak by thrashing them by 98 runs. Batting first, Ireland scored 211, a huge statement ahead of the final. It thus promises to be a cracker-of-a-game between these two sides, who deserve to be the finalists.

Their players have also dominated the stats so far, as Mohammad Shahzad from Afghanistan and Paul Stirling from Ireland are joint-highest scorers in the tournament. Also, Ireland’s leg-spinner Jacob Mulder is at the top of wicket-taker’s list with 8 wickets. His opposite number Rashid Khan too is not far behind, with 6 wickets. With both these teams evenly matched, the final of the first edition of Desert T20 promises to be an enthralling affair.


Afghanistan: Asghar Stanikzai (c), Amir Hamza, Dawlat Zadran, Fareed Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad, Najeeb Tarakai, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen-ul-Haq, Rashid Khan, Samiullah Shenwari

Ireland: William Porterfield (c), Andrew Balbirnie, Joshua Little, George Dockrell, Jacob Mulder, Andy McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Barry McCarthy, Boyd Rankin, Greg Thompson, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young

FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Afghanistan vs Ireland, Desert T20 2017, Final at Dubai