Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live blog of ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier third place play-off between Hong Kong and Ireland at Dublin. We will be bringing you the live cricket scores and updates of the match. Both Hong Kong and Ireland have booked berth of ICC World T20 2016 to be held in India. While Hong Kong defeated Afghanistan to register a spot, Ireland had progressed easily after defeating Nepal. While Hong Kong face Ireland at Dublin in the first match of Sunday, Netherlands face Scotland in the second and last match of the ICC World T20 Qualifiers. Earlier on Saturday night, Netherlands defeated Ireland by five wickets to reach the final. Catch live cricket scores and updates of Hong Kong vs Ireland, ICC World T20 Qualifier 2015, 3rd place play-off

Bad news, folks! The match between Hong Kong and Ireland has been washed out due to rain and Ireland will end the qualifiers in the third place, with Hong Kong finishing fourth.

It has been raining in Dublin and toss has been delayed as a result.However, it is more of drizzle than heavy showers. The ground is being prepared for the match. It is likely to take some time to clear the wet outfields.

If by chance the match is washed out, Ireland will finish third.

A total of 14 teams participated in the ICC World T20 Qualifiers and in the end Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Hong Kong have qualified along with Oman and Afghanistan for the qualifying stages of ICC World T20 2016 to be held in India. When Ireland last played Hong Kong in the group stages, the Asian team won the closely fought contest. However, Ireland will look avenge their loss against Hong Kong on Sunday. Hong Kong’s rise to the semi-final was far more dramatic. After finishing second in Group A, Hong Kong pulled off a stunning win over Afghanistan in the first Qualifying Play-off to book a berth in the ICC World 2016. The ultimate goal was achieved, but Hong Kong could have raised its profile even more had it moved to the final. That dream, however, was cut short after Scotland, the Group B table-toppers, notched a five-wicket win in the first semi-final of the day.


Ireland: William Porterfield (c), Alex Cusack, Tyrone Kane, Graeme McCarter, Kevin O’Brien, Stuart Thompson, Stuart Poynter, Craig Young, Andrew Balbirnie, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine, John Mooney, Niall O’Brien, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson (wk).

Hong Kong: Tanwir Afzal (c), Aizaz Khan, Anshuman Rath, Babar Hayat, Irfan Ahmed, Nadeem Ahmed, Kinchit Shah, Mark Chapman, Anas Khan, James Atkinson (wk), Haseeb Amjad, Giacomo Lamplough, Nizakat Khan, Waqas Khan.

Catch live cricket scores and ball-by-ball commentary of Hong Kong vs Ireland, ICC World T20 Qualifier 2015, 3rd place play-off