The winner of ICC Intercontinentel Cup 2015-17 will play the 10th ranked Test side in 2018 © Getty Images
The winner of ICC Intercontinentel Cup 2015-17 will play the 10th ranked Test side in 2018 © Getty Images

Scotland v Afghanistan at Stirling:

Stumps called on Day 1 without a ball being bowled due to rain.

Ireland v United Arab Emirates (UAE) at Dublin, Stumps: 

Ireland 420/3 | Overs 94

Ed Joyce 229 (222), Andy Balbirnie 7 (19)

OUT! Paul Stirling 146 (198) c Shaiman Anwar b Fayyaz Ahmed

UAE win the toss and decided to bowl first.


Ireland: William Porterfield (c), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O’Brien (wk), Andy McBrine, Garry Wilson†, Kevin O’Brien, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, George Dockrell, Craig Young, Stuart Thompson, Andy Balbirnie, John Anderson

UAE: Mohammad Tauqir (c), Asif Iqbal, Amjad Ali, Saqib Ali, Khurram Khan, Swapil Patil (wk), Shaiman Anwar, Fayyaz Ahmed, Amjad Javed, Mohammad Naveed, Asanka Guruge, Mohammad Shahzad, Ahmed Raza, Chirag Suri

The match is expected to start at 11.45 local time.


Hello and welcome to CricketCountry‘s live coverage of the Day 1 of ICC Intercontinental Cup 2015-17. There will be two four day matches starting from today. Ireland will face the United Arab Emirates (UAE) at Malahide and Scotland will welcome Afghanistan to Stirling. We will be bringing all the live updates of both matches here.

All four Associate nations, which recently impressed at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, will be starting their journey towards becoming the 11th Test playing nation, from Tuesday. The opening round matches of the four-day First-Class Intercontinental Cup 2015-17, which is a pathway for Test cricket, is starting from Tuesday. READ: ICC Intercontinental winner will earn an opportunity to play Test cricket

The side that wins this eight-team round-robin competition will play the 10th-ranked side on the ICC Test Team Rankings (as at 31 December 2017) in the four-match ICC Test Challenge during 2018. It will be a home and away base contest. If the Associate Member wins the series, then it will become the 11th Test nation.

This is defending champion Ireland’s seventh appearance in this competition. It also features former winner Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Namibia, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).