Live Updates

  • 11:26 AM IST

    LIVE: INDW 98/5 in 19.2 Ovs. Harmanpreet Kaur 26 (22)*, Anuja Patil 2 (3)* — IND WIN!!!! That’s it, a modest total has easily been chased down by India, as India register their thiurd win of the tournament, and are just a win away from sealing the final spot. Mithali remains the top scorer with 36 runs. MATCH REPORT

  • 10:50 AM IST

    LIVE: INDW 48/2 in 10 Ovs. MITHALI RAJ 22 (38)*, VEDA KRISHNAMURTHY 1 (3)* — GONE!!!! The opening wickets are down for India, as they lose Mandhana and Meghna for 14 and 8m, respectively, while Krishnamurthy is in charge along with the skipper, as they are well on course to chase the total down.

    OUT! Smriti Mandhana c Sana Mir b S Yousuf 14 (16), Sabbhineni Meghana lbw b Nida Dar 8 (8)*

  • 10:26 AM IST

    LIVE: INDW 16/0 in 5 Ovs. Mithali Raj 5 (20)*, Smriti Mandhana 8 (11)* — Slow start by the Indians, as they have scored mere 16 runs in the opening five overs. However, no harm is done as of now, while the Indians refrain themselves from hurrying as the score is low to be chased down.

  • 10:00 AM IST

    LIVE: PAKW 97/7 in 20 overs, Nain Abidi 37 (41)*, Sidra Nawaz 2 (2) — THAT’S IT!!!! A low scoring total form Pakistan , as they score 97 for the loss of seven wickets, with Abidi being the top scorer for an unbeaten 37 runs, along with Zafar for 28, while Ekta Bisht claimed 3 for 20. INNINGS REPORT

  • 9:27 AM IST

    LIVE: PAKW 43/2 in 9.3 overs, Ayesha Zafar 27 (30), Nain Abidi 7 (14)* GONE!!!! And there goes the third, with Zafar being the latest to fall for 28 to Anuja, after being caught by Sushma, while Iram is the new batter in. PAK still continue to be shaky.

    OUT! Ayesha Zafar c Sushma Verma b Anuja Patil 28 (36)

  • 9:19 AM IST

    LIVE: PAKW 43/2 in 9.3 overs, Ayesha Zafar 27 (30), Nain Abidi 7 (14)* GONE!!!! The second wicket is down as well, as Maroof is the latest batter to be dismissed for a mere couple to Anuja Patil, after being caught by Bisht, while Abidi is the new batter in. Slow and shaky start by the Pakistanis.

    OUT! Bismah Maroof c Ekta Bisht b Anuja Patil 2 (5)

  • 9:03 AM IST

    LIVE: PAKW 33/1 in 6 overs, Ayesha Zafar 25 (25), Bismah Maroof 1 (3)* GONE!!!! The opening wicket is down for the Pakistanis, as they lose Javeria to Bisht, after being caught by Mitahli, for mere seven, while Maroof is the new batter in.

    OUT! Javeria Khan c Mithali Raj b Ekta Bisht 7 (8)

  • 8:52 AM IST

    LIVE: India Women vs Pakistan Women, ACC Asia Cup T20 2016, Match 7, PAKw17/0 in 3 overs, Ayesha Zafar 14 (12), Javeria Khan 3 (6): Pakistan women have made a slow start. They will look to accelerate and get a substantial score before the powerplay overs come to an end.

  • 8:22 AM IST

    TOSS: India Women win toss and elect to bowl

India Women will look to make it three wins in a row in the competition © IANS
India Women will look to make it three wins in a row in the competition © IANS

Hello and Welcome to CricketCountry’s coverage of Match 7 of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Women’s Asia Cup T20 2016 match between India Women and Pakistan Women at Asian Institute of Technology Ground at Bangkok. This is a crucial match for both the teams as they have four points from their opening two games. But it is India, who are on top as they have a better net run rate. India Women thrashed Nepal Women by 64 runs in the first match and thrashed hosts Thailand by 7 wickets in their second game. Pakistan on the other hand started their campaign with a 9-wicket win over Nepal and then followed it up with a 8-wicket victory over Sri Lanka Women.

The ongoing political tension between these two nations, adds extra spice in this contest between the arch-rivals. In their first match, India Women scored 118 for 6 after Bangladesh Women asked them to bat first. Openers Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandana scored 49 and 41 respectively to help India get to a competitive score. In reply, Bangladesh were bowled out for just 54, handing India a 64-run win. Poonam Yadav, Jhulan Goswami and Anuja Patil picked up 3, 2 and 2 wickets respectively. India Women’s second match was a much easier affair. They were set a target of just 70, which they won by 9 wickets and 53 balls to spare.

Pakistan Women too have had a couple of easy matches so far. After bowling Nepal Women for just 47, they won the match by 9 wickets with 60 balls to spare. In the second match, Pakistan were however made to stretch a bit more. But Javeria Khan’s unbeaten 56 helped Pakistan Women beat Sri Lanka Women by 8 wickets with 20 balls to spare. Pakistan Women were set a target of 113, after Sri Lanka Women scored 112 for 8 in their 20 overs.

Ahead of this tournament, Harmanpreet Kaur was appointed India Women’s T20I captain and in her first assignment, she suffered a 3-0 series whitewash at the hands of World T20 champions West Indies Women. In fact the last time India and Pakistan played a T20I was in the World T20  match, where Pakistan Women edged India Women by 2 runs in a rain-marred match.. However, the previous time these two sides met in a Asia Cup tournament, Harmanpreet was India Women’s star as India romped home to a 18-run win at Guangzhou as India clinched their fifth straight title successfully defending a modest score of 81.


India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Meghna Singh, Shikha Pandey, Anuja Patil, Poonam Yadav, Nuzhat Parween, Preeti Bose, Mithali Raj, Vellaswamy Vanitha, Sushma Verma

Pakistan: Bismah Maroof (c), Javeria Khan, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Asmavia Iqbal, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Iram Javed, Maham Tariq, Nahida Khan, Nain Abidi, Nida Dar, Sadia Yousuf, Sana Mir, Sidra Nawaz