Live Updates

  • 11:41 PM IST

    It is all over. India have won the match by 6 wickets. The 5th wicket partnership was 68.

  • 11:39 PM IST

    The partnership now is above 50. Karthik is playing a good hand here maybe this should ring the bell for management and he should be promoted down the order.

  • 11:35 PM IST

    The equation is almost run a ball now. With Dinesh Karthik and Manish Pandey in the middle it seems to be easy for India at the moment.

  • 11:02 PM IST

    After 9 overs, India are 83 for 3. KL Rahul and Manish Pandey are doing it sensibly, and dealing in singles. Both have got starts, and need to see the side through with a vital stand. Lanka operating with Jeevan Mendis and Perera. Dananjaya’s last over will be essential.

  • 10:50 PM IST

    Raina is known to take charge no matter what the situation, and play his shots. He was looking good, but falls for a 15-ball 27. He chips it straight to Thisara Perera; in an attempt to clear the mid off region. ind 62-3.

  • 10:41 PM IST

    You can’t keep Suresh Raina out of the contest for long. Though he is taking his chances, so far he has ensured to put the ball over the ropes. He is two away from surpassing MS Dhoni to become India’s third highest run-getter in T20Is. ind 46-2 (5).

  • 10:35 PM IST

    Though Sri Lanka were restricted by 30 runs, Akila Dananjaya is making the total look daunting already. He has got rid of both the openers, and Suresh Raina-KL Rahul are in a tight spot here at Colombo. ind 30-2 (4).

  • 10:22 PM IST

    Another failure for Rohit. He chips in straight to short mid wicket, and Akila Dananjaya gets rid of the danger man. ind 13-1.

  • 10:17 PM IST

    Rohit Sharma has started the innings off in style. With a six, off the pull, and a four, he surely is eager to shed off his poor form quickly in a must-win encounter here at Colombo. ind 11-0 (1).

  • 10:03 PM IST
    THATS IT! India need 153 to win. Superb last over by Thakur, 6 runs and 2 wickets.

    OUT! Thakur gets his fourth wicket. Suranga Lakmal falls for duck. Dasun Shanaka hands a simple catch to keeper for 19; Thakur gets his third.

  • 9:55 PM IST

    OUT! KL Rahul takes a simple catch at long off. Akila Dananjaya trying to up the ante holds out to the fielder. First wicket for Jaydev Unadkat.

  • 9:45 PM IST

    Suresh Raina is into the attack. Dasun Shanaka and Akila Dananjaya are in the middle, not what Sri Lanka would have hoped with the start they got. With 3 overs to Sri Lanka would to get somewhere near 150.

  • 9:37 PM IST

    OUT! Chahal gets rid of Kusal Mendis. This was a soft dismissal for Mendis. He was looking in great form. Washington Sundar in the last over took the wicket of Jeevan Mendis. Sri Lanka from a position of strength have collapsed. India have picked 3 wickets for 7 runs.

  • 9:26 PM IST

    OUT! Thisara Perera falls for 15. Thakur picks his second wicket. Credit goes to Yuzvendra Chahal for taking a high catch. Jeevan Mendis is out the middle.

  • 9:24 PM IST

    Thisara Perera has taken over Kusal Mendis’ role. Perera has so far managed to 2 sixes in just 5 balls. Fourth T20I fifty for Kusal Mendis. Wonder why was not picked for Sri Lanka’s tour to India last year.

  • 9:17 PM IST

    OUT! Vijay Shankar gets his man. Upul Tharanga goes for 22. He was going nowhere with his innings. Kusal Mendis still in the middle on 48.

  • 9:10 PM IST

    This has been a superb partnership between Kusal Mendis and Upul Tharanga. They have crossed 50 runs; 52 off 36. Mendis doing most of the scoring. Jaydev Unadkat has been called to pick up a wicket.

  • 9:00 PM IST

    Mendis is taking Yuzvendra Chahal apart. Chahal is clearly struggled in Sri Lanka. He has bowled either too short or has been too forward. His second over went for 17.

  • 8:50 PM IST

    50 up for Sri Lanka. Quite an economical over from Sundar. He has not been afraid to provide air to the ball against the batsmen. Kusal Mendis is looking to deny India a good start.

  • 8:45 PM IST

    Yuvendra Chahal has been called into the attack. Important that Chahal picks a few wickets here. Kusal Mendis will be key to Sri Lanka’s success. Mendis has shown aggression against Chahal. Upul Tharanga was caught in the outfield off a free hit.

  • 8:37 PM IST

    OUT! Sundar cleans up Kusal Perera. He was looking to reverse sweep Sundar, but managed to chop the ball on to his stumps off his gloves.

  • 8:33 PM IST
    OUT! Danushka Gunathilaka departs for 17. Suresh Raina takes a blinder at mid-wicket. He was trying to slip Shardul Thakur over covers, but sadly managed to find a leaping Raina.
    Shardul Thakur starts his first over with a wide.
  • 8:29 PM IST

    Washington Sundar into the attack. He gets welcomed by a massive six over his head by Danushka Gunathilaka. Sundar continues to give flight and deceive the batsmen with pace. Good comeback by Sundar, 9 runs from his first.

  • 8:25 PM IST

    Jaydev Unadkat to start proceedings for India. Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis will look to provide a swift start to Sri Lanka. Mendis has already shown his content, smacking Unadkat for a six over point. Mind you this is a 19-overs-a-side match. 15 from the first over.

  • 8:10 PM IST
    Sri Lanka: Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera(w), Upul Tharanga, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera(c), Jeevan Mendis, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera

    India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik(w), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal
  • 8:09 PM IST

    Suranga Lakmal comes in for the suspended Dinesh Chandimal.

  • 8:08 PM IST

    India make one change. KL Rahul comes in for Rishabh Pant

  • 8:07 PM IST

    TOSS: India win toss, opt to field

  • 7:59 PM IST

  • 7:48 PM IST

India lost the first T20I vs Sri Lanka at Colombo. (Image courtesy: AFP)
India lost the first T20I vs Sri Lanka at Colombo. (Image courtesy: AFP)

Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the fourth T20I of the Nidahas Trophy. India will take on Sri Lanka in both sides’ third encounter in the tournament. We will provide you with live updates and interesting tweets from the social space for this contest. With all three teams — India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh — tied on 2 points (by virtue of 1 win and 1 loss each), the tournament has reached a crucial stage ahead of the second leg of the group stage. With regular skipper (for the series) Dinesh Chandimal suspended for 2 matches due to slow over-rate, India would feel they have the best chance to turn the tides against hosts, after their first T20I loss.

From Sri Lanka’s perspective, they do not need to press the panic button. Stand-in captain Thisara Perera has been in good form since Chandika Hathurasingha’s appointment as head coach. With extra responsibility, he will be eager to maintain momentum and take Sri Lanka to the final. It is believed that Team India is willing to try the likes of Mohammad Siraj, KL Rahul and Deepak Hooda. It will be interesting to see who misses out if India opt for a new lineup.