Live Updates

  • 7:55 PM IST

    That is the end of South Africa’s innings. 112 chasing 166 is what they put up, which means India win the match by 54 runs and also pocket the series.

  • 7:36 PM IST

    WHAT A CATCH! Jemima surely converted another of Marizanne’s boundaries to her wicket. She was not at midwicket but manages to reach the ropes in time, get hold of the catch from almost over the boundary and balance herself. One last hope for South Africa departs.

  • 7:27 PM IST

    Well, well, some damage control from Marizanne Kapp. Takes her team past 100. Showing some destructive batting here, similar to what Chloe was doing. The intension is simple and with 3 wickets in hand, justified – get the runs soon.

  • 7:16 PM IST

    OUT! Chloe’s knock comes to an end. She hit two sixes and was batting aggressively, only option left for South Africa after the top order collapse. But Rajeshwari Gayakwad got her dismissed. South Africa 6-down now.

  • 7:01 PM IST

    What and over from Shikha! Though she gets hit for a couple of boundaries, bags the crucial wickets of Minion du Preez and Nadine de Klerk. South Africa 44/5 in 9 overs.

  • 6:47 PM IST

    India on top of the game! South Africa have lost 3 wickets in their first 3 overs. Rumeli struck twice to get rid of skipper Dane van Niekerk and Lizelle Lee while Shikha got the wicket of Sune Luus.

  • 5:54 PM IST

    Back to back wickets! Mithali departs after scoring 62 and is followed by Jemima who made a crucial contribution of 44. India 134 for 3 with 3 overs remaining.

  • 5:19 PM IST

    Fifty up for India Women! Though Smriti has departed cheaply, Mithali is still out there at the other end and proves her skills with a six!

  • 5:08 PM IST

    Smriti departs for 13! Tries to hammer a good length ball from Marizanne Kapp but Masabata Klaas takes a brilliant catch to get rid of her. India 38/1 in 5.4 overs

  • 4:58 PM IST

    3 overs played and India are off to a decent start with 19 on the board without any loss. Mandhana making sure boundaries keep coming regularly. Khaka, meanwhile, bowls a couple of wides.

  • 4:11 PM IST

    UPDATE: It is raining at Cape Town

  • 4:08 PM IST

    TOSS: South Africa Women elect to bowl

India lead series 2-1 © Getty Images (File Photo)
India lead series 2-1 © Getty Images (File Photo)

India Women take on South Africa Women in the fifth and final T20I at Newlands in Cape Town. India lead the series 2-1, after the fourth T20I was abandoned due to rains. India have been clinical in the first two T20Is which they won convincingly — by seven and nine wickets respectively — but a five-wicket loss in the third match kept the series alive for South hosts.

South Africa still have a shot at drawing level in the series. India could make history by winning the final T20I, and claim their second consecutive series against South Africa Women. India had earlier won the ODIs by 2-1. A win here in South Africa will also be a huge milestone after having won the T20I series in Australia.


India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia, Nuzhat Parveen Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Rumeli Dhar.

South Africa: Dane van Niekerk (c), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Odine Kirsten, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Moseline Daniels.