Live Cricket Score IPL 2012: Mumbai Indians vs Pune Warriors India  3rd T20 match

Richard Levi’s good form with the bat will be the key for Mumbai Indians AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Mumbai: Apr 6, 2012

Mumbai Indians (MI) will aim to continue their winning streak when they take on Pune Warriors India (PWI) in the third match of IPl 2012 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Their bowling and fielding were top class against two-time champions Chennai and it is difficult to visualise a victory for the Warriors if Mumbai can repeat the show.

Harbhajan Singh, who took over the mantle of the Mumbai outfit from Sachin Tendulkar after the latter relinquished it ahead of the start of the tournament, led the team in an aggressive style and that also turned out to be a big bonus.

Team’s new recruit South African Richard Levi also started impressively with a 35-ball 50 on his IPL debut to clinch the man-of-the-match award.

Two other foreigners, who are expected to play all the games — Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga and West Indian Kieron Pollard — were also in the thick of things with the ball.

The only worry ahead of tomorrow’s game is the finger injury sustained by Tendulkar when he fended at a lifter from leftarm pacer Doug Bollinger and retired hurt.

Pune Warriors, on the other hand, have a tough task on hands as their key player and last year’s skipper Yuvraj Singh, will be missing, recovering from the treatment for a rare form of cancer.

The man-of-the-tournament in India’s World Cup victory in 2011, Yuvraj had brought the much-needed balance to the outfit with his power-packed batting (343 runs in 14 games) and effective left-arm spin (nine wickets) last season.

Even Australia captain Michael Clarke will also be available only after his country’s campaign ends in the Caribbean on April 27. Also unavailable is Sri Lanka allrounder Angelo Mathews, who is busy representing the island nation in the Test series at home against England.

The wily customer that he is, Ganguly could play only four games last season after joining the squad as a late injury replacement.


Mumbai Indians: Suryakumar Yadav, Richard Levi, Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Kieron Pollard, James Franklin, Harbhajan Singh (c), Lasith Malinga, Pragyan Ojha, Munaf Patel.

Pune Warriors India: Robin Uthappa (wk), Sourav Ganguly (c), Callum Ferguson, Marlon Samuels, Manish Pandey, Steven Smith, B Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Wayne Parnell, Murli Kartik, Ashok Dinda

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of MI-PWI IPL 2012 clash here