Live Updates

  • 11:19 AM IST

    Well, this is somehow intriguing. ‘Player safety issue’ comes to the fore…

  • 11:17 AM IST

    That’s it. As expected, there will be no second ODI between New Zealand and Australia. Rains and poor field have resulted in the game being abandoned without a ball being bowled!

  • 11:04 AM IST

    Meanwhile, the crowd at the McLean Park is getting annoyed for obvious reasons. They have been waiting for hours and there are no adequate announcements as well.

  • 11:02 AM IST

    Here we go. Umpires are headed to the middle to inspect the field once again…

  • 10:47 AM IST

    There will be another inspection at 6.30 PM local time, but the chances of the play happening are very, very bleak.

  • 10:47 AM IST

  • 7:45 AM IST

    More bad news, there will be another inspection in some time…

  • 6:51 AM IST

    This is something which I have been asking for a very long time now. While it was raining, parts of field were left exposed to the rains which means there is a delayed start. Why can we not have covers for entire field at all international venues? Shouldn’t this be a standard practise all over the world?

  • 6:42 AM IST

    New Zealand and Australian cricketers got together yesterday to recreate what turned out to be perhaps the biggest moment of their bilateral cricket. Yes, I am talking about the underarm ball incident, which happened exactly 36 years ago.

  • 6:34 AM IST

    Is it a good news or a bad news? I cannot decide in particular…

  • 6:26 AM IST

    While we wait for the game to begin, how about checking out what are the key clashes for the second ODI between New Zealand and Australia?

  • 6:24 AM IST

    We have some good news! The rains have subsided completely, and the umpires are out there in the field for inspection. Toss and start of the match are certainly delayed though…

  • 6:07 AM IST

    Good morning! We have a delayed start to the second ODI between New Zealand and Australia, due to poor weather. As of now, the toss has been delayed but the reports from McLean Park, Napier, are suggesting that the weather is clearing up slowly.


Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the second One-Day International (ODI) of Chappell-Hadlee Trophy between New Zealand and Australia, at McLean Park in Napier on Thursday. New Zealand, somehow, managed to survive Marcus Stoinis’ onslaught, eventually winning the match in 46th over after a leaping Kane Williamson inflicted a run out. Stoinis remained unbeaten on 146, but Australia fell short by 6 runs. Stoinis hit 11 sixes coupled with nine fours. Stoinis was well supported by Pat Cummins, after they were downed to 67 for 6.

Stoinis’ 146 is the second-highest score by a No. 7 batsman in ODIs, after Luke Ronchi’s 170* against Sri Lanka in 2014-15. Stoinis currently has an average of 150, the second highest in ODIs after two innings. New Zealand, batting first, made a splendid start with Martin Guptill going great guns. However, Neil Broom and James Neesham contributing heavily in the death overs. Speaking of Guptill, who made 61 off 73, has been ruled out of the second ODI at Napier due to a hamstring niggle. Northern Districts batsman Dean Brownlie, who last played for New Zealand in December 2014, has been called in for the match. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: New Zealand vs Australia, 2nd ODI at Napier

New Zealand are not the only one going through injury problems, as Australia’s stand-in skipper Matthew Wade was ruled out of the series.

Wade hurt his back in pre-match practice of the first ODI. Aaron Finch, who led Australia at Auckland, has now been named as skipper for the entire series. No replacement has been named for Wade, which means Peter Handscomb will continue keeping wickets. Handscomb did not impress, but looked more a causal wicketkeeper to say the least.

New Zealand and Australia do not need any motivation, for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy is on the line, which itself is a strong enough reason to inspire these two teams to prosper.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Dean Brownlie, Tom Latham (wk), Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Blundell (wk), Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, James Neesham

Australia: Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Aaron Finch (c), James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Billy Stanlake, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa