Live Updates

  • 5:02 PM IST

    Moreover, New Zealand have moved above India to No. 3 in the ODI rankings as a result of this win over Australia. South Africa move to No. 1

  • 5:02 PM IST

    What a match this has been. There were moments where both teams would come out on top. But finally, it was the Kane Williamson lead side that triumphed. Trent Boult rattled the Australian side with his 6 wickets. With this New Zealand have regained the prestigious Chappell-Hadlee trophy 2016-17.

  • 10:58 AM IST

  • 10:45 AM IST

  • 10:44 AM IST

  • 10:27 AM IST

  • 9:24 AM IST

    Australia have again lost their way. They have lost 2 big wickets of first Finch and then Glenn Maxwell for a duck.

  • 9:12 AM IST

    AUS 107/2 in 19 overs | Target 282 | Batting: Aaron Finch 49 (57), Travis Head 31 (33): 100 up for Australia and now they are looking comfortable. Finch and Head have played some great cricket till now and these two will have to carry on for a long time if they want to stand any chance of winning this game.

  • 8:32 AM IST

    Peter Handscomb has been a real failure in this series. This is his first outside Australia tour and his scores read 7 and 0.

  • 8:29 AM IST

  • 8:28 AM IST

    AUS 44/2 in 8 overs | Target 282 | Batting: Aaron Finch 17 (23), Travis Head 0 (2): This game has turned completely out of nowhere in favour of New Zealand. First a mix-up accompanied by lazy run ended Shaun Marsh’s innings, and soon in 2 balls. Peter Handscomb is clean bowled by Trent Boult.

  • 8:11 AM IST

    AUS 22/0 in 5 overs | Target 282 | Batting: Aaron Finch 16 (20), Shaun Marsh 1 (10): A cautious start from Australia. A new batting pair as well, so some experimentations here by the Men in Yellow which we will see eventually if they yield good or don’t.

  • 8:06 AM IST

    Do read the innings report here

  • 7:05 AM IST

  • 5:52 AM IST

  • 5:52 AM IST

    Dean Brownlie has departed for 63. he brought up his maiden fifty and since then had cut loose. Tried chasing a wider delivery from Faulkner but edged it to the keeper. There were some doubts about if he had edged it or not as the on-field umpire had turned down the appeal. hence Australia reviewed and eventually got the much needed wicket

  • 5:28 AM IST

  • 5:22 AM IST

  • 5:14 AM IST

    NZ 130/2 in 24 overs | Batting: Dean Brownlie 46 (56), Ross Taylor 43 (38): This is again excellent batting from New Zealand and particularly from Ross Taylor. he has taken the aggressor’s role here and has blasted almost every Australian bowler. Brownlie has meanwhile seems to be happy playing second fiddle to him.

  • 4:38 AM IST

    NZ 76/2 in 16 overs | Batting: Dean Brownlie 36 (39), Ross Taylor 0 (0): The 70 run-stand has come to an end and that did take a beauty of a delivery to do so. Extra bounce and some in-swing did the trick for Australia. Ross Taylor has come out to bat now!

  • 4:36 AM IST
  • 4:23 AM IST

    NZ 67/1 in 12 overs | Batting: Dean Brownlie 31 (34), Kane Williamson 34 (30): This has been some great batting by New Zealand. Brownlie has looked solid and Williamson has taken the attacking guard since the time he has come out to bat. Seeing no fatality from seamers, Australian skipper Aaron Finch has now got leg-spinner Adam Zampa into the attack.

  • 3:49 AM IST

  • 3:48 AM IST

    NZ 12/1 in 4 overs | Batting: Dean Brownlie 10, Kane Williamson 0: Mitchell Starc has drawn the first blood here. Tom Latham is gone. He flicks the ball to fine leg but to find the only man Josh Hazlewood who moves to his right to complete a neat catch.

  • 3:41 AM IST

  • 3:40 AM IST

    New Zealand: Dean Brownlie, Tom Latham (wk), Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

  • 3:39 AM IST

    Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

  • 3:38 AM IST

    Adam Zampa has been included the side instead of Sam Heazlett

  • 3:27 AM IST

    Dean Brownlie has been included in the squad in place of Martin Guptill. No Ish Sodhi. I wonder why was he even called in the team for this final game!

628-CL-040202017Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live cricket blog and updates of the third and final One-Day International (ODI) between New Zealand and Australia, at the Seddon Park in Hamilton. The Chappell-Hadlee Trophy 2016-17 is so far tilted in New Zealand’s favour, winning a thrilling opening contest of the three-match series by 6 runs, at the Eden Park in Auckland. New Zealand lead 1-0, and a victory in the third ODI will help them regain the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy once again. Australia, on the other hand, will be desperate to win the final game as the second ODI was washed out, eliminating their chances to win the series.

Australia entered the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy on the bank of comprehensive wins over New Zealand and Pakistan, in their backyard. But in the first ODI, Australia missed their batting mainstays in David Warner and Steven Smith and were also without the services of stand-in captain Matthew Wade, who was later ruled out of the entire series due to a back injury. In his absence, Aaron Finch led the side, with Peter Handscomb donning wicketkeeper’s role. Handscomb had a poor outing, though, as a wicketkeeper in the first ODI, his first match away from home. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: New Zealand vs Australia, 3rd ODI at Hamilton

In the series opener, one of the most memorable ODI knocks were witnessed by an Australian batsman. Playing only in his second ODI, Marcus Stoinis hammered New Zealand bowlers all over the Eden Park, striking his way to a fabulous 117-ball 146. Stoinis smacked 11 sixes and 9 boundaries to power Australia after they had collapsed to an embarrassing 67 for 6, chasing 287 to win. Stoinis teamed up with several batsmen in the Australian lower-order to take his team on the brink of a famous win. However, with 18 balls left and 7 more to win, New Zealand clinched the game in their favour, with Kane Williamson running out Josh Hazlewood.

Australia will be desperate to end this tour on a winning note, as they will be heading straight to India for a gruelling four-Test series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2016-17. On the other hand, New Zealand will face the formidable South Africa for bilateral series across formats.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Neil Broom, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Jimmy Neesham, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Dean Brownlie.

Australia: Matthew Wade (c & wk), Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Handscomb, James Faulkner, Sam Heazlett, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Billy Stanlake, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa.