Live Updates

  • 8:31 PM IST

    Live: Rangpur Riders vs Chittagong Vikings, Match 30, CHV 124/1 in 16 overs | Batting: Tamim Iqbal 62*, Anamul Haque 22*: That’s the end of the proceedings here at Dhaka as Vikings demolish Riders by 9 wickets. What a performance this by them. A comprehensive win and it will surely help them with their NRR. First their bowlers set the momentum and Chris Gayle, Tamim Iqbal and Anamu Haque carried on the responsibility of chasing the target of 125 easily with 4 overs spare. That’s it from here and do join us for Match 31 tomorrow at 5:45 pm. Goodbye!

  • 8:04 PM IST

    Live: Rangpur Riders vs Chittagong Vikings, Match 30, CHV 76/1 in 10 overs | Batting: Tamim Iqbal 28*, Anamul Haque 4*: Just the start CHV would have wanted. Chris Gayle was at his very best yet again. Playing in his first match of BPL 2016, he was up for the challenge smacking some huge sixes off Shahid Afridi, Rubel Hossain, Sohag Gazi etc. His 40 off 26 balls has put CHV on verge of win. Stratergic time-out in the middle with CHV on top.

  • 7:42 PM IST

    Live: Rangpur Riders vs Chittagong Vikings, Match 30, CHV 30/0 in 6 overs | Batting: Tamim Iqbal 19*, Chris Gayle 7*: Gayle storm has not been witnessed so far but the left-hander has opened his arms now. With Tamim Iqbal settling in as well, CHV racing away to the total.

  • 7:21 PM IST

    Live: Rangpur Riders vs Chittagong Vikings, Match 30, CHV 3/0 in 1 over | Batting: Tamim Iqbal 3*, Chris Gayle 0*: Chittagong Vikings have bowled well. Especially the death overs were excellent by Taskin Ahmed and Imran Khan. They should chase it down easily with Chris Gayle also at the helm of things today.

  • 6:59 PM IST
    Live: Rangpur Riders vs Chittagong Vikings, Match 30, RR 124/6 in 20 overs | Batting: Anwar Ali 20*, Sohag Gazi 1*: That’s the end of the first innings. Rangpur Riders have reached to a tame total of 124 for 6. They wil certainly not be satisfied with their performance. Their bowlers have to step up to avoid another defeat. Chittagong Vikings’ bowlers have done well, especially Mohammad Nabi, and should be upbeat to win this encounter.
  • 6:46 PM IST

    Live: Rangpur Riders vs Chittagong Vikings, Match 30, RR 103/5 in 17 overs | Batting: Anwar Ali 3*, Muktar Ali 3*: Wickets tumbling at regular intervals as Riders have lost the plot here. Afridi went without doing much, as always. I don’t know why he gets such a thunderous response on his arrival. Let’s see where can Riders get from here on!

  • 6:31 PM IST
    Live: Rangpur Riders vs Chittagong Vikings, Match 30, RR 77/3 in 14 overs | Batting: Liam Dawson 7*, Shahid Afridi 6*: Rangpur Riders going nowhere with this run-rate. They have not only lost the set pair of Shahzad-Mithun, their skipper Naeem Islam has also left the park with a back strain. Nonetheless, Dawson is a vital batsman in the death overs and is being accompanied by power-hitter, Shahid Afridi. Good tine for Afridi to add some runs finally off his blade.
  • 6:12 PM IST
    Live: RRvsCV: RR 62/3 in 10 overs | Batting: Liam Dawson 1*: We are halfway stage of the first innings. RR were gaining momentum slowly yet steadily before Mohammad Mithun and Mohammad Shahzad departed in the last over. Mohammad Shahzad’s exit will surely bolster Chittagong Vikings. Captain Naeem Islam joins Liam Dawson with work in hand.
  • 5:51 PM IST

    Live: RRvsCV: RR 37/1 in 6 overs | Batting: Mohammad Shahzad 7 (14), Mohammad Mithun 2 (1) : Soumya Sarkar has gone back to the dugout. He played a good attacking knock of 26 runs from just 21 balls. He did get a good start but couldn’t convert it into a big one. Mohammad Shahzad, the other opener was quite till now, but maybe he will get going in his usual attacking way now that the first wicket has fallen!

Tamim Iqbal is the leader of the side © AFP (File photo)
Tamim Iqbal is the leader of the side © AFP (File photo)

Nomoskar! Good evening! Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016. Match No. 30 will be played between Rangpur Riders and Chittagong Vikings at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur. Rangpur Riders are currently placed at the third position, and will look to come out hard and garner two points from this encounter, climbing up in the points table. Chittagong Vikings, on the other hand, are sitting at the fourth position and have eight points from the same number of matches.

Rangpur Riders lost their previous encounter against Rajshahi Kings, affecting their confidence. They failed to chase down the set target of 163 and lost the chase by 12 runs. Chittagong Vikings, on the other hand, had a contrasting result in their latest encounter, against Barisal Bulls. They won the game by a massive margin of 78 runs, and have certainly bettered their net run-rate. This is a crucial game for both the teams, and one can expect a high-voltage one, as we have reached the business end of the tournament.

Chittagong Vikings have a well-balanced side with Tamim Iqbal at the helm of the affairs. The likes of Dwayne Smith, Grant Elliott, Taskin Ahmed, Shoaib Malik and Jeevan Mendis instil immense confidence. Riders, on the other hand, are led by Naeem Islam and have some match-winning players such as Mohammad Shahzad, Rubel Hossain and Shahid Afridi.


Chittagong Vikings: Tamim Iqbal(c), Anamul Haque(w), Grant Elliott, Imran Khan jnr, Jahurul Islam, Jubair Hossain, Jeevan Mendis, Tymal Mills, Mohammad Nabi, Abdur Razzak, Nazmul Hossain Milon, Saqlain Sajib, Shahidul Islam, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Subashis Roy, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali, Zakir Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan

Rangpur Riders: Rubel Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Richard Gleeson, Mehrab Hossain, Naeem Islam(w), Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Shahzad, Muktar Ali, Nasir Jamshed, Pinak Ghosh, Gidron Pope, Gihan Rupasinghe, Shahbaz Chouhan, Shahid Afridi, Sohag Gazi, Soumya Sarkar, Ziaur Rahman, Liam Dawson, Jupiter Ghosh, Anwar Ali