Live Updates

  • 4:13 PM IST

    New ball has been taken. Vidarbha will hope Aditya Thakare and Siddesh Neral will hope to get rid of Dhruv. If Delhi do not lose a wicket here they will be the happier of the two sides.

  • 3:50 PM IST

    100 for Dhruv Shorey. This is his first this season, it took him 224 balls. Vikas Mishra is out in the middle. Himmat Singh fell for 66. Rajneesh Gurbani took his scalp. Manan Sharma was out for 13. Siddesh Neral took his wicket.

  • 2:32 PM IST

    Welcome back for the final session on Day 1. Himmat Singh and Dhurv Shorey will look to take this partnership even further. Rajneesh Gurbani to open the proceedings in the post-tea session.

  • 2:10 PM IST

    TEA! FIFTY! Himmat Singh has been Delhi’s go-to-man in this season. He reaches his fifty in 60 balls; his fourth in a row. The pair have added 81 runs so far. Sanjay Ramaswamy and Akshay Wakhare are bowling in tandem.

  • 1:58 PM IST

    Himmat Singh has turned the tide in Delhi’s favour. He is nearing his fifty; his fourth in a row. Dhruv Shorey has been doing great so far and the pair has taken his side to a position of strength.

  • 1:38 PM IST

    50 for Shorey. He has been holding one end up for Delhi. Both Shorey and Himmat Singh has added 50 runs in 84 balls. This has been a good session of play for Delhi. His fifty came in 145 balls.

  • 1:04 PM IST

    So far, Dhruv Shorey has been a thorn in Vidarbha’s rosy garden. He is currently batting on 44 and looks good for a big score. Himmat Singh in the past has holed Delhi out of a tight spot and will require to do the same. Faiz Fazal has himself come on to bowl.

  • 12:43 PM IST

    OUT! Rishabh Pant falls for 21. He was looking to hit Gurbani out of the park on the earlier delivery. He fell trying to be cute and nudge the ball to third man area. Himmat Singh is out in the middle.

  • 12:13 PM IST

    Aditya Thakare and Rajneesh Gurbani to start the post-lunch proceedings. Risbabh Pant and Dhruv Shorey will look to get Delhi into a safe position from here on. A close leg-before appeal was turned down after a massive edge off Pant’s bat. This session could decide the flow of the match.

  • 12:01 PM IST

    Aged 20 years 86 days, Pant is the youngest-ever to lead a side in a Ranji Final.


Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Ranji Trophy 2017-18 Final. I am Vishal Mehra, your host for the day. The attention shifts to the Holkar Stadium, Indore where Delhi and Vidarbha will battle for India’s supreme domestic shield.

Both the sides will be without their premier pacers who are on national duty. Delhi’s regular skipper Ishant Sharma is expected to start for India at Cape Town while Umesh Yadav may make the cut as the third pacer. However, both the sides have in-form pacers in their camp. It will be a clash between Delhi’s Navdeep Saini (29 wickets this season) against Rajneesh Gurbani (31 wickets).

Ranji Trophy: List of winners
Ranji Trophy: List of winners

Vidarbha’s road to final has been a fairytale. This is the first time they have made it to the tournament final and a chunk of the success goes to Gurbani’s form. They clinched a 5-run victory over the strong Karnataka side that was undefeated in the competition. Will the fairytale continue for Faiz Fazal’s men?

Delhi have the star power. They are eyeing their eighth title win. The last one came a decade back and Gautam Gambhir led them to it. The southpaw still has enough steam left and Bengal got a dose of it in the semi-final. Gambhir slammed his 42nd First-Class hundred to bury Bengal deep. Rishabh Pant, the man who has captained the side in Ishant’s absence, has not produced results like he did last season. Pant’s bat will be itching to join the party. Delhi has an upper hand in head-to-head contests. The sides have met five times and Vidarbha have managed a win only once.

It is going to be pleasant in Indore with temperatures in the early to mid-20s. Though the conditions remain good for batting, early on pacers may get help out of the conditions. It is the one last hurdle. Who will cross?


Delhi: Rishabh Pant (c & wk), Aditya Kaushik, Gautam Gambhir, Unmukt Chand, Nitish Rana, Dhruv Shorey, Milind Kumar, Himmat Singh, Manan Sharma, Vikas Mishra, Pulkit Narang, Navdeep Saini, Vikas Tokas, Kulwant Khejroliya, Kunal Chandela, Anuj Rawat, Lalit Yadav, Akash Sudan

Vidarbha: Faiz Fazal (c), Ganesh Satish, Ravi Jangid, Rajneesh Gurbani, Wasim Jaffer, Akshay Karnewar, Lalit M Yadav, Siddesh Neral, Sanjay Ramaswamy, Aditya Sarwate, Jitesh Sharma, Ravikumar Thakur, Akshay Wakhare, Apoorv Wankhade, Siddhesh Wath, Karn Sharma, Shrikant Wagh, Shalabh Shrivastava, Shubham Kapse, Akshay Wadkar (wk)

Editorial team of CricketCountry.